Why Is It So Hard To Sell Ourselves?

I had an interview for a permanent position where I work around a week and a half ago.  I have to be honest and say I don’t have a lot of confidence, and I think that shows.  Also once I am confronted with authority or a panel (as I will always have to in my position) I crumble.  They ask things I know, but at the time it’s worded in a way I have to think about what they really want from me.

Needless to say I didn’t do very well in my interview.  I had a panel of three, and they asked very broad questions which made me wonder what they wanted to know.  As usual I thought of all the big things and none of the really basic things.  I was prompted with things I should have known and lets face it, I really should have just prepared better.

So today I went to see the manager of that department and she told me I didn’t get the position, however she was really good about it and explained why, she also suggested someone at work who I could approach for help for future interviews.

Anyway, I went back to the department I currently work in and had a chat to my manager.  She was really great, and had been understanding when I said I had applied for this other position.  She has offered me 12 months and feels confident that in that time I could pick up something permanent.  In the meantime I work in a place I’m really happy in, and I have guaranteed work for 12 months, and some security.

However, in the meantime I will have to work on selling myself.  And maybe building some self confidence.  That is the worst and hardest part of self development, I am happy to do all the education or study they need from me, but I can never talk myself up.  This is something I will really have to work on, or maybe get some coaching on.  I love my job, and would hate to think something that should be so simple could ruin future opportunities.

Having said that, I don’t know now if I feel saddened that I never got that job, or relieved I can stay where I am.  I love the staff in both places, but I prefer the work where I am.  And as some of my colleagues said to me tonight, maybe it’s meant to be this way.  Who knows, maybe my future is in surgical nursing.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Is It So Hard To Sell Ourselves?

  1. Self promotion is difficult. I work in advertising, and so many who hire me don’t know how to toot their own horn.

    • I think it has to be one of the hardest things to do. I just crumble at the question, but I really should just make an interview pack with all the things I need to mention just incase. On the spot I forget everything I can do, and all the skills I have.

Leave a Reply

