Health Food Motivation

The health kick has begun.  Since I’ve been feeling so guilty lately with all the junk food I’ve been eating we decided to take a trip to the local health food shop, which was about half an hour away.

Today is day one on the new health kick.  My partner and I got different things, he’s all stocked up on juices, carrot juice, berry juice, beetroot juice, and coconut water.  He’s planning to use them as bases for smoothies.  He also got some cayenne pepper, not that we can’t get that anywhere else but we got that while we were there, he also got some quinoa cereal and an energy seed mix to go with it.  While I got goji berries, an acai berry powder and protein powder.  I think we got more than that but those were the main ones.

acai

So day one, I had night duty last night so I’ve just gotten out of bed.  I’m getting ready to go to the gym, and I’ve made up my first smoothie of baby spinach, half a banana, acai berry, protein powder and almond milk.  I think the protein powder from memory is mostly vegetable and fruit ingredients, and none of those chemicals and unexplained ingredients you find in the supermarket ones.  I was trying to be careful about which one I bought because I’ve heard a lot of negative reviews on those powders.  Incase you’re wondering why the protein powder, I’ve been losing a lot of hair lately, it maybe just that I’m noticing it, but most probably it’s a diet issue, and I’m trying this first.  I believe it’s a symptom of insufficient protein, and most of the time I don’t eat a great deal of protein, especially since I don’t eat that much meat.  I have fish once or twice a week if I’m lucky.

So our plan is to keep with the healthy cereals as breakfast, smoothies for lunch, or for me salads at work (smoothies for lunch aren’t a bad idea for my partner, as he doesn’t like a lot of fruit and vegetables and that’s the easiest way for me to get him to eat them…  By drinking them).  Then something healthy for dinner.  Tonight we’re having chilli con carne.  I know it seems we have that alot lately, but it seems to be his favourite dish now, and he likes to make it which suits me fine.

Anyways, since I don’t have a great deal of time up my sleeves I best get going, I have to go back to work tonight.  Luckily he’s making my dinner while I’m at the gym.

I will update on how this plan is going, I think some times when you’re struggling and you just can’t seem to maintain motivation, the best thing you can do it an overhaul.  And, to some degree I find this is almost like a meal plan for my week all in one.  I now have what I need for this week, all I need is dinner top ups when I go shopping.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

