Back to Basics

Detox!  I usually hear this word and cringe.  I think it might be just about time for one though.  I feel yucky in every way.  I feel bloated and lacking motivation, I’m tired and exhausted.  I have two days off now, and I would like to make a start on feeling better.  My biggest problem isn’t exercise at the moment, it’s the content I’m putting in my body and I’m  feeling worse for it.

Tomorrow is a 500 calorie day here on the 4:2:1 diet.  My partner and I have made a conscious effort to make a new start.  I’m making up a new meal plan for the week (after all it is Sunday and this is my meal plan day).

On the menu this week we’re going back to basics.  Cereal, bacon and eggs for breakfast.  Smoothies, fruit, muesli, yoghurt and salads for lunch, and no fuss basic meals for dinner.

Monday:  Tuna salad  (500 calories)
Tuesday: Cottage Pie  (1200 calories)
Wednesday: Satay Chicken (1200 calories)
Thursday: Vegetable Korma (1200 calories)
Friday: Beef Strogonoff (500 calories)

This week we’re “just eating real food”.  No processed food, no sugary treats, just meat, veggies, fruit, muesli, yoghurt, eggs.  Plus proteins, low starches. This week I’m focusing on what I fuel my body with, I will still be exercising, but I want to get into some more yoga and pilates than usual, I’ll still go to the gym for cardio but I want to get it all back to basics.  I believe that’s the easiest way.  Complicated meals mean more ingredients and more calories sometimes, more additives and processed.  I am trialing just eating basic ingredients.

As you can tell today probably wasn’t a great diet day.  I over ate as we went to Hog’s Breath and I feel like the last few days have been blow outs after blow outs.  The only way for me to regain control is to sit back, make a plan of attack and go for it.  I like to do something about it, that was my biggest issue when I was overweight, I kept saying tomorrow I’ll make a change.  Now I’m saying today I’ll make a change, and I’ll make a plan for the short term, and adapt it as I figure out what is and what isn’t working.

I’ll start tonight with just liquids, and some relaxation.  Some yoga stretches, and maybe some pilates if I have the motivation.

What are you planning for this week?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Ratio 4:2:1 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

