HOMEMADE: Protein Bar and Protein Smoothie

I’m researching some new recipes, and in light of my recent protein bar fails, (well they were ok but I had to set them, then bake them and refrigerate them again), but now I’ve found a better recipe from a page I follow on facebook.  I tried them and they were awesome.  I made some this week, and although the woman on the video says she used oatmeal, I’m thinking it was just oats.  Next time I think I’ll just use some readily made muesli or make my own, depending on the fruit and nut options I have at home.  But other than that I thought they were tasty.

Slide1

Image adapted from youtube video from female health motivation on facebook.

I forgot this time, but the next batch will have goji berries and acai powder I got from the health food shop.

I’m keep an eye out for some new snack and dinner ideas.  As I may have mentioned previously I’m trying to increase my protein intake due to some hairloss I think is more than normal.  I’m not sure how it’s working so far, I have only just started this week.  So the protein bars were an idea for work, or after a workout at the gym.  In addition I have also been eating eggs for breakfast, I’m keeping hard boiled eggs in the fridge for a quick snack idea, we had satay chicken last night for dinner and protein shakes.

I made a new shake yesterday.

Slide1

20131109-041508.jpg

 

I have a magic bullet at the moment so I make the drink straight into the cup and just make enough for the one drink.  But if you want to double the ingredients, and add anything you like you can always make enough for 3-4 drinks.  Also, you can substitute the almond milk for skim, or juice if you want to.  My partner likes me to put coconut water in his, and occasionally I put some in mine after a work out, it’s natures energy drink and replaces electrolytes.

Please feel free to share your own ideas, adaptions or recipes below.  I’m always happy to receive feedback, and always looking for new ideas to try.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

