Getting Ready for Christmas

Christmas is creeping up on us, getting closer and closer with each day.  I’ve been starting to worry I’m not organised, yet again.  Every year I promise myself to make a change for the following year and be more organised, but here I am again.

So today I decided to do something proactive, something small, but it made me feel like I was in control and a little more prepared.  I bought a Christmas tree.

I know that doesn’t sound like much, but the last 4 years I have had no Christmas tree.  I said earlier this year when we moved that I was going to have a proper Christmas this year.  I would make some Christmas stockings, have a nice Christmas tree and have a nice Christmas dinner, either lunch or dinner but make it special.  Even though I have to work Christmas day there’s no reason it can’t still be a big deal.

I’m thinking this year about seeing family on Boxing day, and visiting my partners family either before or after my shift on the day.  We don’t really have any plans, but I somehow have to make Christmas a big event this year, while juggling work and family.

Last year we didn’t really do anything, I didn’t really see family and my partner and I didn’t do much.  In fact he drove me to work and I made more effort to have a nice lunch at work than the effort I made for when I got home.

So I’ve decided to use the rest of this month to build a plan to get myself organised.  I plan to find some recipes for Christmas, I was even planning to make a gingerbread house this year, and I need to get on top of presents.  I haven’t done anything yet.

It’s time to get ready.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Getting Organised and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

