Planning for an Organised Christmas

It’s that time of the year where we start stressing, shopping and generally getting into the crazy Christmas season.  Tomorrow with be the official start of the Christmas season.

I already have my Christmas tree up, I got stressed a few weeks ago and went and bought it, and some decorations, and of course we were so excited (since I really love Christmas – and for some reason I’m just not feeling like it’s “Christmas” just yet) we put the tree up straight away.

Although Christmas is still a while away, I still like to think I’m organised, which I generally don’t feel like I am.  So I’m making a to-do list for this week, while I have a few days off, I want to clear my head and have a “December plan”.

This week involves:

  • Making a gift list
  • Investigating some gift ideas/looking for sales/best places for some items
  • Sorting through Christmas recipes
  • Making a start on homemade Christmas gifts (I’m making a patchwork book for a nephew this year)
  • Make a Christmas budget – these things can get out of hand

As the month progresses I will have less to do if I can get organised this week, I’m hoping I can manage to start anything handmade, and maybe finish it this week.  I was hoping to make stockings, but I’ll have to see what fabrics I have laying around.  I’m looking for some sewing inspiration, and thought I could make something nice for Christmas, but I just can’t seem to find anything that appeals to me so far.

One thing I would love to start this week is a gingerbread house.  I am thinking of making a replica of my partners grandparents house out of gingerbread this year, and taking it over as a gift.  After all grandparents usually have everything they need, and this will be something thoughtful and tasty for the day, plus it will look nice on the table…  I hope!

How organised are you for Christmas this year?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planning for an Organised Christmas

  1. Monica DiNatale says:

    I’m almost done shopping! If you have a foodie to shop for, check out my book 365 Guide.

Leave a Reply

