Christmas Homemade Gift Ideas

As I’ve mentioned previously I am planning to make a lot of presents this year.  It’s a cost effective way to look at Christmas, plus it means more thought has gone into the whole process.

I was talking to a colleague at work the other night about our Christmas shopping and I’ve realised I am very much behind with my preparation, and as we got talking she mentioned a few things I thought I would try and do this year.

So today I plan to get started on a cloth book I am making for my partner’s nephew, and I’ll work on fixing up the last edges on a quilt to give to his niece.  Meanwhile I am planning to put together some craft packs as I mentioned on my facebook page, with homemade play dough and finger paint, plus some craft bits and pieces, all I am hoping to pick up from a local cheap shop.  While it sounds cheap I don’t think the kids will see it that way, it will provide some entertainment for them, however their parents might hate me after the mess it might create.

I’m currently shopping around for some sauce squirter bottles for the paint, and some containers for the playdough, I also have a plan to put together some decorative jars with ingredients layers and a recipe to go with it for things like brownies and cookies.  Something simple, so that the receiver only needs to add milk and eggs, this was something I wanted to do last year but I never got around to it.  It’s something you can give to friends or colleagues you don’t know what to buy for.  Or it can make a nice stocking filler for family.

Another idea I saw the other day was decorations for desserts and cookies.  Ie: sprinkles, m&ms, choc chips.  I have a friend who likes to cook so I might do something like this for her.

I will try to upload some more images later.  I’m having trouble uploading them at the moment.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Craft, Getting Organised and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

