Catching Up Before Christmas… And With Christmas – Plan Ahead

I’ve been really slack lately.  I’ve also been unwell with migraines and even went to the hospital for fluids the other day.  I still managed to get to the gym yesterday, and did a pilates and yoga workout at home the day before, as I could tolerate it.  I have two days off and then start nights so I’m planning to get a handle on a few things I need to be organised and ready, especially since Christmas is coming just around the corner.

Tomorrow we have my partners car booked in for a rego check, so I’m using that opportunity to go shopping for some DIY Christmas ideas I have, since we have to go into town I may as well make the most of it.

We’re getting on top of our healthy eating, I even got my partner to try tuna which is something he claims he hates.   But, since we’re about to do our shopping I’m planning ahead for what we can have for this week.  Thankfully he’s getting right into making himself smoothies for either breakfast or lunch, having them in the fridge ready to go is a great idea when you’re exhausted and need something quick.

My biggest downfall at the moment is the housework.  I’ve been so tired and drained lately, I’ve even been falling asleep on the lounge after work.  Yesterday I went to the gym on my way home, fell asleep on the couch for two hours, had dinner and watched a movie before going to bed and I slept through the night for a total of 12 hours.  It’s been a long time since I’ve done that.

I’ve promised my partner tonight his all his, I slept half the day, which I’m not proud of but I plan to keep the evening for him.  So tomorrow I can catch up on some housework while he gets his car ready for registration, I was hoping he might also clean mine, we’ll have to wait and see.

Depending on how you prepare for Christmas, make sure you still take some time out for yourself, family and friends.  Use this time of the year to spend some quality time with those you care about, presents don’t have to be material, it can be as simple as shouting someone to morning tea, dinner or even popping in and helping them out.  I think sometimes we forget about the simplest things.  Kids are a little bit different, especially if they aren’t  your own.  I think it’s nicer to appreciate the gifts people have put more thought into, that’s why I’m doing homemade gifts this year for the kids I’m buying for, even the gifts I’m getting friends.  Keep an eye out and I’ll hopefully get around to finishing the DIY ones I’ve had planned.

I like to have a 3 Day plan, encompassing my meal plans, exercise and to-do list.  This way I don’t do a whole weeks worth of shopping and change our minds about meals only to have food go to waste in the fridge.

My plan for the remainder of this week includes:

Thursday:
Meal: Steak and salad
Exercise: Pilates/Yoga
To-Do: Tidy kitchen and clean bathroom, start sewing project for Christmas
Hopefully: Meal planning for next week – mushroom risotto

Friday:
Meal: Satay Chicken
Exercise: Gym (cardio)
To-Do: Baking for night duty, vacuum & mop

Saturday:
Meal: Creamy tomato fetticine
Exercise: Pilates
To-Do: Baking for night duty

Sunday:
Meal: Mince – chilli con carne most probably with guacamole
Exercise: Rest
To-Do: Cooking preparation (next week), something to freeze ?pumpkin soup and catch up on laundry

However you plan your week, there’s no right or wrong, and it doesn’t matter that things don’t go to plan.  My week rarely does, but I like to have the plan there so that if something really does change, I have meals there ready to go and clean clothes to wear.  Maintaining the housework is always handy if people are popping in too.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

