Balancing the Exercise/Diet Regime

What is your exercise regime?  Does it change or do you do the same thing?  Are you bored and where do you look for new ideas?

Mine is versatile, as it has to be because of my employment and energy levels.  I try to include strength and cardio, while getting to the gym at least 3 times a week, but I don’t only exercise at the gym and there is always something I can do depending on how much time I have.

When I’m on my way to work or my way home I will go to the gym since I live about 20 minutes away and it’s on my way to work.  Otherwise I use my malibu Pilates chair, it allows me to work my arms, legs, abs and back while also raising my heart rate. It’s not the same as cardio, I doubt my heart rate is quite as high as if I’d gone to the gym, but it’s still exercise. The way I see it, moving is moving, and working your muscles can’t be bad, plus I get decent resistance, in the privacy and convenience of my living room, and in front of the air conditioner.

I like to mix things up a little. I love my cardio at the gym, but I also love my more relaxing yoga and the massage-like feeling I get from Pilates.

There’s always something you can do though. I usually take 40 minutes to an hour, and I figure that either way at least 4 times a week isn’t doing too bad, so I plan it in my diary. To make sure I don’t forget. 😉

Even if you’re busy, and you feel like you don’t have the time to exercise, consider a few things. Can you get out of bed an extra 15 minutes early? Are there small windows of opportunity throughout your day, 5 minutes here or 10 minutes there? I may have blogged about this before, but I encourage you to try this and keep it in mind for next week, pay attention to the short moments where you’re just waiting for things. For example: while the jug is boiling, while waiting for the toaster, in the shower… There are many opportunities during the day. I used to work as a nanny and what I would do while trying to balance that busy lifestyle was wait until the kids went to bed, then I would do my bootcamp exercises, or if I was exhausted I would try to fit in some ab crunches, push ups and squats. If that’s all you fit into your day, that’s still progress. Squats you can do in the shower,( I’ve done that before), try push ups once you get out of bed and crunches anytime you get the chance in between.

A few ideas for healthy options when you’re busy – breakfast smoothies

20131213-010738.jpg

Homemade soup

20131213-011002.jpg

Protein bars:

20131213-011156.jpg

Keep in mind that if you are in the diet and weightless market, there is more to it than just some exercise here and there. Have a look at your diet, try to eat as much food that can perish, ie fruit and veggies, fresh herbs, avoid nasties like starch, pasta, bread and processed foods.

There is no right and wrong, I figure that as long as you’re moving you’re making progress. If you try to eat the right things, plan your meals ahead and fit in some movement you can’t go wrong.

Some simple ab ideas:

20131213-005146.jpg

Simple ideas to tone legs and thighs:

20131213-005314.jpg

And of course there’s always the good old push-up challenge:

20131213-005518.jpg

Something to think about when you feel time-deprived, or exhausted knowing you need to do something no matter how small, of course no matter how much progress you think you have to go, and no matter how hard it might be to begin with, you will get better and it will get easier. I remember when I started my bootcamp DVD, I was barely able to complete the moves properly, so I did what I could, and over time the more I did it the easier it got.

Don’t forget to keep something in the freezer or fridge for easy on the go snacks or last minute meals. It all helps.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Balancing the Exercise/Diet Regime

  1. Fit Mommy says:

    hello! I am stay at home mother and housewife, I too have to workout at my home I do not have access to a gym but I try to do as much as I can at home and try to include my little one! Im so glad there are other mothers out there that try to stay fit and healthy for their families! I too do small exercises while in the shower or waiting for something to finish cookng in the kitchen, little mini workouts all though out the day have been my thing since my daughter was born and so far it has worked out very well! This post was great to read for me and thank you for giving me more motivation! Have a great day!

    • You’re welcome, sometimes I think it’s nice to see what other people do, and get ideas for myself, when I’m tired or time deprived. I do have access to the gym, but I don’t know if it’s worth the 25min drive sometimes. And sometimes it’s nice to stay home.

      Thank you for your comment 🙂

      • Fit Mommy says:

        I feel the same way! I enjoy working on in private rather then going to a gym, I could be done working out by the time I get to the gym and get settled.

      • I agree. Then it’s over with, and have a shower at home…

        If you like yoga I highly recommend Erin Motz YouTube channel, she has a 30 day yoga challenge I’m hoping to get back into, it’s good because it’s only 20mins at a time. And I believe she’s doing something new in the new year. I love the feeling I get after yoga and Pilates.

        Thank you for your comments, sometimes it’s nice to know I’m not alone lol

      • Fit Mommy says:

        Your welcome!! And I will look her up, I haven’t gotten a chance to get into yoga yet I’m all about Pilates. But I also have not found any yoga videos to try yet so I’m going to look her up on YouTube tonight. I’ve heard that yoga does amazing things for the body and mind so I’m excited to try! Thank you so much for the information!

Leave a Reply

