Started My Christmas Shopping

My Christmas Shopping has commenced. I have to admit, I love Christmas shopping, I love buying gifts for people. Granted that I seem to have more items on my “to-do list” now, but I’m also excited at the same time.

I might have been exhausted and felt terrible during the day, I’ve been sick and had a horribly sore throat (sounds like first world issues – and they are), but it really hurt. However we finished our day wonderfully, my partner and I cooked dinner together, it was again creamy tomato fettuccine.

20131213-020800.jpg

I have big plans again for tomorrow, not so much for going out, but more for around the house, involving housework, sewing and cooking. It’s Christmas treats for night duty and a trial gingerbread house, as well as making the cloth book I’ve been meaning to start.

I’m staying up tonight in preparation for the night routine. I have a seemingly long week ahead next week, and merely a sleep day between my nights and the beginning of my next week.

I’ve been thinking about the Christmas gift giving, and while I’ve been endeavoring to try something new this year, I was thinking about what I could get my partner. Mostly the gift giving we share with each other is something thoughtful, or to do with something we know about each other. This goes back to before we were in a relationship, he would show how much attention he had paid. I remember getting an expansion for a computer game I play occasionally, and a toblerone bar, something I just happened to mention. This year we decided no materialist gifts, but rather save the money for something more meaningful. So (in the hopes he doesn’t read this post), this year I wanted to give him something unique, but we’ve agreed nothing on Christmas Day. However knowing me, there will be something on the day, just keep the best until last… A surprise… There, that doesn’t give too much away.

I think there is something about Christmas. It’s the act of everyone pitching in, getting together, working together for the same outcome. It’s about family, it’s about new beginnings and it’s about harmony. I didn’t grow up in a big family, but we appreciated what we had. Christmas Day was always about family, a meal and the ability to sit around the table together, open gifts from one another and enjoy the atmosphere and company. My partner has a much larger family than me, and his family has the same values as me, the big family, all in one place together and at the same time, enjoying each other’s company around the table with a meal everyone pitched in to create. While my family Christmas seems to be getting smaller, my brother has in-laws to share with, I promised to be part of my partners family celebrations this year since I’m not working on the day, but I can’t help but feel sorry for Dad. I feel like Christmas Day should be a big family affair! For the most part dad and I have the same values, that’s one thing I can honestly say I inherited, however I feel sorry for him not having the family surrounding, especially when we gave such a small number to round up on the day. How do we involve all the people we love in one instance? And when we try so hard, how come the ones we try so hard for don’t offer to meet us half way?

I have lots of plans for Christmas, only my preparation time is dwindling! I love this season, time for giving and being with people we love. I know this isn’t the same everywhere, but I hope everyone gets something positive from the holidays.

I think everyone has an idea for Christmas, mine is to create a tradition. Whether it’s a recipe, many dishes, hosting the meal or being involved in organizing. I’m excited to be part of someone else’s tradition this year, to be part of something bigger. Last year I worked, and we made the most of it, we all took in a dish, and we got the patients ready for family to come and get them, and for those who stayed we maintained the atmosphere…. No matter where you are, it’s Christmas. Give something, even if it’s a smile or a helping hand. I remember my favourite childhood story, Little Women, where on Christmas Day they discovered a poor family with no food or warmth, they made a fire and packed up their warm, delicious meal and gave it to the poor family. How much more special is Christmas when you can share it with someone else, and give them something you take for granted?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

