Gingerbread House Trial

So today I did what I said I was going to do, I made my first ever gingerbread house.  I really need to make two batches but I ran out of ingredients so I just made a small gingerbread hut.  It stuck together ok with the icing I made, but it wasn’t white, all I used was egg white and icing sugar, but I think it was special icing sugar so I’ll have to go back to old faithful.

image

I know it looks a bit lame, but its a start and next time I plan to make it bigger and even decorate it.

I’ve also managed to cook up a big batch of pumpkin soup for this week, and hopefully I’ll manage to make some risotto tomorrow.

Despite sleeping in until 12 today, I don’t think I’ve done too bad, and now I have some time for some pilates, yoga, and some abs and pushups before I cook dinner and have a shower ready for work.

It’s easy to sit back and complain about how unorganised my life is, and how bad I feel about my weight and eating habits.  But, today I managed to make some progress towards Christmas (the gingerbread gift idea I have), and prepare a healthy grab and go meal for my afternoons this week, plus I’m about to work out.  I also caught up on the washing while I was cooking.

I didn’t get any sewing done, but that’s now tomorrow’s task.

Focus on what you can do, not what you can’t.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gingerbread House Trial

    • Thank you. I plan to try a bigger one soon, as a gift for Christmas. I just have to work on the icing and make it whiter I think.

      • CultFit says:

        *Plot Twist* My son and I messed around last Christmas and mixed a little food coloring in the frosting … If I can remember correctly it turned a nice shade of violet?!? Anyways, we ended up putting so many pieces of candy and what not on out home you could barely see it. 🙂 Can’t wait o see what you come up with, take care and I hope you have a great weekend!

      • Thank you for your positivity. I’ll have to make another attempt during the week, I’m just coming off night duty, time for a sleep. Back to work tomorrow afternoon.

        I must admit I’m impressed at how easy it was to hold together, I was hoping to make the next one resemble the house of the person I’m giving it to. I didn’t know what to give someone who has everything they need or would want, so I’m trying for thoughtful and creative lol. Even though I don’t really have a creative bone in my body. But I like cooking! I am looking forward to the decorating part 🙂

Leave a Reply

