Night Duty Struggles

I haven’t done much in the last few days. On night duty it’s hard to keep up with everything or have any kind of productivity. I feel like all I do is work and sleep. By the time I get out of bed in the evening, I usually gave enough time to cook dinner, prepare something to take to the next shift, have a shower and go. So I almost feel like those days are a write off and I greatly look forward to my days off before going back to days.

I think I’m all ready for work, I just can’t sleep, wondering if I should stay awake all night tonight, and go to the gym on my way to work (I start at 1:30pm).

I spent today cleaning up the house and cooking. I have pumpkin soup all done up ready for my afternoon shifts, and tonight I made some scones in the thermie when my partner asked what he could have as a snack.

20131216-033144.jpg

20131216-033157.jpg

My plan for tomorrow is Pilates and off to the gym on my way to work… I did ok the last few days, until I made the scones, now I feel guilty.

I need to remember to control my intake, it’s the deposits we can’t see that cause the most damage. The changes on the outside are only a small glimpse of our overall health. On nights it’s hard because I feel like I eat too much, or eat the wrong things during the shift, but in between I barely eat anything. I need to organise myself better before my next block… This week.

I need to get back to my old night duty routine. Dinner about 7pm, healthy snacks; veggies and hummus, or yoghurt and muesli at 3am, then protein for breakfast when I get home and straight to bed.

Everyone seems to have their own coping strategy for night duty. I know research suggests upsetting the circadian rhythm affects our health, but my biggest issue these days is the switch from nights to days since I seem to be doing both shifts each week lately. Staying awake on the last day seems so hard, but sleeping too long is also hard since I can’t sleep at night.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

