Learn How To Organise Next Year’s Christmas From This Year’s Mistakes

I’m coming off night duty again.  It’s getting increasingly close to Christmas.  I’m still unorganised.  I have a present to make today, a gingerbread house to make (hopefully closer to the day so it’s still relatively fresh), and I haven’t wrapped any presents.  I even still have 3 people to buy for.

I worked last night, and yet again I’ve over slept after my last night.  So I made the most of my day today.  I am still catching up on some laundry, I cleaned up the bathroom, kitchen and vacuumed.  I’m not having Christmas at my house, but there’s something to be said about feeling relaxed in a decluttered environment where there’s no reminders of things you still have to do.  I even started and finished a home-made gift idea I’ve had for a while.  I’ve actually had the fabric here for several months.

cloth book

It’s the cloth book I’ve been meaning to make for my partner’s nephew.  Not perfect, but it will do for last minute.

If you want to get more organised for Christmas next year, use this Christmas as a learning curve.  Try writing down all the things that made you unorganised this year to improve next year.

For me, this includes things like saving up for shopping earlier than just trying to manage it all at the end of the year.  I know some people opt for credit options at this time of the year, but I can’t justify buying presents on credit, I would never expect someone to go into debt for me, and I would never consider birthday presents an option for debt either.

So what’s left to do at this time of the year?  Left over present ideas?  Home-made ideas come to life?  Or just wrapping and cooking on the day.  It’s now the 22nd of December and the day is coming around really quickly.  So make your second last to-do list, and knuckle down.  This list will help determine your last list.  My last list is to be made on the 23rd, for all the things I want to achieve on Christmas Eve and Christmas morning.  Remember to recruit help if you need it, and take some time for yourself.  You deserve it!

Time to relax for me.  I might see if my partner wants dinner and a dvd.  Looks like he might be just set for bed.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Getting Organised, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

