A Belated Merry Christmas

First of all I would like to send out a belated Merry Christmas, yesterday was a bit hectic so there was no time for me to make a post.  I even forgot about facebook and actually felt a little guilty, however I did return calls and texts.

How did your Christmas celebrations come along?  We did the usual family thing, I went and saw my partners family, then he went home and I went to see my family, or part of it.

For some reason I just didn’t get the Christmas bug this year though, even when I was talking to Dad last night he said he was the same.  I don’t know if that’s because it doesn’t feel like that time of the year, if I’m growing up, or I was so busy I felt like it was just sprung upon me.  Although I must admit I wasn’t prepared this year, I did all my shopping at the last minute and still have a gift or two to buy, for people I hadn’t seen or if the gift was specific and I couldn’t get it in time.  Plus there was the gingerbread house, it was ok, but seemed like it just dragged on forever, I had issues with shape and in the end I felt disappointed it didn’t have all the decorations I was hoping for.  We’re thinking about making another one next year, but I want to get organised early next year.

gingerbread house

 

It was at least a learning experience, and I must say my gingerbread recipe is down-pat, with all the batches I made in the end I think I could just about remember the recipe off the top of my head.

Unfortunately I was meant to see Dad today, which is not the unfortunate part, but we were meant to spend the day together.  He came over to mow the lawn, I gave him something for lunch and I felt too sick to go to the speedway with him.  I just feel a little disappointed about that, but it is my birthday in a few weeks, and I can always make up for it then.

It’s time to make some notes I think for next year, what I would like to change and do to be ready earlier.  Like some presents bought no later than November, I’m even thinking about making some during the year.  I think edible options put a little more strain on Christmas, but they are an easy and cost-effective option.

I hope everyone got through the clean up ok.  We did a big clean up today, pretty quickly actually because my partners sister came to visit today for the first time in this house, so my partner wanted to make a good impression.  It’s funny I’ve never seen that side of him.  He’s never really that worried when his parents are here, or when they dropped in as a surprise the day after we moved in and we hadn’t really unpacked anything, plus he always tells me I need to stop acting like the house is a museum, but today he had his attention to detail on.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining, it was just interesting to see.  Maybe he’ll appreciate the way I like to keep the house tidy all the time, then it’s no issue when people decide to visit.  I like to stay on top of everything so it never really feels like a big job.

Anyway, it’s time to relax, enjoy the time off and start thinking about New Year’s Eve.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas, and have a wonderful and safe New Years whatever it is that you’re doing.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

