It’s Time To Get Serious!

Ok, so I guess we all have New Year’s Resolutions.  And how many of us say I’ll start again on Monday?  Why do we have to wait until Monday to start?  Why can’t we start today?  Fair enough there’s still a few days until the new year, but maybe we can start working out a few kinks before hand.

gty_new_years_resolution_jef_111220_wg-480x270

I’m ready and I’m motivated today.  Yesterday I played poor me while I was under the weather with a horrible migraine.  But, today I’m full of enthusiasm and lets use it while we can.  Whenever you get enthusiastic or motivated about something, embrace it there and then, you’ll find you have more progress that way.

So my partner doesn’t like me to go for a run for protection reasons, he would rather me exercise at home or at the gym, which is a fair call, plus running these days upsets my knees so I can live with that.  Right now it’s really too late for me to go to the gym (well, not really as it’s only 5:15pm, but it’s not worth the drive), so I’m getting started while I have the motivation, and thought I might share it all with you while I’m here.

I’ve decided to really get myself organised like I was a few months ago.  Meal plans, meal preparation, exercise and sleep routine are all on the list.

I hear you, you may not have what you need to prepare for the week ahead, I was about to make a batch of sausage rolls to keep in the freezer (vegetarian style), a batch of pumpkin soup and risotto but I have one problem.  No ingredients!  So I’m going one up, tonight we’re planning to have satay chicken for dinner, I have everything I need and it will create left overs for my shift tomorrow evening.  Not only that, but I have also made a shopping list for tomorrow morning and maybe I can start one of those batches before I head off to work.  Now I might be getting a little ahead of myself here, but like I always say, over plan first and then if you let yourself down and don’t get around to it all at least you’ve still made a decent effort.

So my three goals to get around this week are as follows:

1. Be prepared – this means meal plans, meal preparation, a weekly plan and a shopping list.  All pretty basic ideas that we all use most of the time, no big deal.  Already taken care of for the week!  Well almost, except for the preparation but that’s part of the planning.

yoga

2. Exercise – this brings me to the next part of my plan.  Tonight I’m planning pilates and yoga at home, I have plenty of resources; my pilates chair and some youtube yoga, plus the app I bought.  In addition I want to get back into my cardio, so tomorrow I want to get to the gym on my way to work.  Sounds hard and like a busy morning, but I’m sure I can do it, if I put my mind to it.

3. Sleep – this is a big trouble area for me.  I have struggled with work and sleep over the last few months, so my plan is to start taking myself to bed early, I’m hoping by 9:30.  I’m hoping psychologically my mind will think it’s time for bed, if not, I have the dvd player all set up in there, and I plan to charge up my kindle for some reading.  That always helps me get to sleep, that or some puzzle game on the ipad that makes me think.  Who cares how it happens, but I want to be getting to sleep before 11pm each night.  I don’t think that’s unreasonable, especially when I have to be at work by 7am on morning shifts.

Now we have a plan we need an “action plan”, here’s mine:

Tonight:

Now: Yoga and pilates
7pm: Dinner (no more late dinner’s hopefully all eaten by 7:30 and no more food afterwards, if I’m hungry I can have tea or water)
7:30: 8:Clean up and wash up from dinner, put on the washing machine/dryer
9pm: Into the shower
9:30: Bed

Tomorrow:

8am: Up and shopping and home by 9am
9am: Cook at least one prep dish and clean up
11am: Leave for the gym

Granted that life doesn’t always work out like this, and that I don’t have children but when I feel out of control I really need to get back on top of things, and my way of regaining control is to make a plan and be proactive.

start-working-out-todayI have other goals I would like to work on, like I mentioned in my NYR post, but I believe in small changes, and making gradual changes is the key to success.  If you try to change everything at once it will all become too much, just like success with a diet, take little increments at a time.  I just want to get the basics worked out first.

At the end of the day, a start is a start.  It doesn’t matter when we start, or what happens after, all that does matter is that when we fall down, we get back up and begin again.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised, Health/Fitness, How To's, Inspirational, Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Time To Get Serious!

  1. Challenge accepted. Currently I’m in bed, I had dinner, cleaned up, showered and got to bed in time, watched a few episodes in bed and it’s not 11:30 and I’m giving into sleep. Not too bad, I can still get over 8hrs sleep. Hope tomorrow is just as productive.

    Good luck guys!

  2. Oh, and including my yoga workout, from an app called all in yoga. Very useful and I’m hoping to make it a regular occurrence.

Leave a Reply

