If You Build It They Will Come!!!?

So, I’ve been watching my favourite shows late at night lately, it always inspires me to take a look at what I want, what I actually have accomplished, where I’ve come from and what I can do to get where I want to be.

We all have a story… And, there are versions; the short version, the long version and the versions we choose to share. Then there’s the versions we hold onto, give or take parts of the above.

Tonight I felt bad about my downfall today, not only was I not prepared for my week like I had planned, but I also had another fail tonight, out of convenience. Maybe also a little out of starvation. Yes, as usual it was food related, but I always struggle in this department, but (and I know this sounds like a cop-out) but sometimes I think we need the big downfall to give us the motivation to keep going. What can inspire you more than feeling horrible?

If I have learnt anything from my journey, it’s that he change must come from within, we need to want it. No matter what “it” is. “It” could be a new car, a home, a family, weight-loss a new job… Anything! It’s harder to be motivated about something you don’t really want, but if it’s something you do want you have to set goals. Big things can seem so unacheivable, but when we break them down, and we start to see progress it will begin to add to our motivation, once we’ve realized not only can we do it but WE ARE DOING IT!

And, to set the story straight, you can’t imagine something into reality, or wish for it or expect someone to drop it right into your lap. You have to make a plan, you have to get organised, set a goal, something small and achievable and just do it with all the will power you have. If it’s a big purchase, make a budget, create an amount to save for, once you get there celebrate. Not with money, but something simple, a night in at home with your favourite DVDs, or a night in with the girls/guys, throw a dinner party. Then raise the next threshold. If it’s losing weight, start with a month and about 3kgs, then celebrate with an item of clothing. Maybe as the ultimate motivation buy something you want to fit into. If it’s a financial goal keep a picture of it in your wallet as a reminder every time you open it. It’s about small things, but if you remember why you’re doing it, you will succeed.

I currently have a lot of big goals, I acknowledge that, and they will take time to achieve. What I need to remember is how far I have come, all the achievements so far, and that even during my struggles I may have failed or had downfalls from time to time… Small set-backs. But, for the most part I regroup, and keep chipping away. If you put in the effort, you will see results.

What I am learning though, is that we all have an image in our minds, of how it’s meant to be, and an idea of how we are meant to get there. There will always be obstacles that get in our way, but I think the “take-home” message here is… What we must realise… We have to climb the seemingly largest mountains, and sail through the seemly roughest seas, to make it to the valley. Only that’s not the final picture, there will always be a valley, just a little further away. Or why would we keep moving along, if the best isn’t yet to come?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

