How To: Use Up Your Left-overs

I was cleaning out our fridge and came across a few things that we really needed to use, mostly veggies and herbs and I thought it would be a great idea to share a number of ways you can use up leftover ingredients – all healthy options too because you’re using natural ingredients and making it at home…  From scratch.

Quiche:
If you don’t like the added pastry, simply don’t have a pastry case.  I make mine so it’s quiche all the way to the sides.  I do use a pastry powder, but not very much of it, just helps it hold together with the eggs, but it works really well and you can’t even taste it.

Salad:
The obvious choice

Stir fry:
Just throw whatever you want in and add a sauce, it doesn’t even have to include meat.

Pasta bake:
Pasta bake is another all-in possibility

Soup:
Just need to buy or make some stock and maybe add a few extra veggies

Casseroles:
If you have a slow cooker this might be a time saver.  Throw it all in in the morning and it’ll be ready when you get home.

20140102-190509.jpgPizza:

All you need is the base, a sauce and some cheese…  The rest is negotiable.

The possibilities are endless!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in How To's, Meal Planning, Nursing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

