New Year New Plan More Motivation!

Happy New Year!  I hope everyone saw the new year in ok, and that you are all ready to take on your new plans.

I didn’t do anything special, I finished work at 9:30, came home and cleaned up.  I’m not superstitious usually, but I don’t like to leave the Christmas tree up going into the new year, it’s bad luck.  It’s not good to take last years disasters into the new year, only clean and uncluttered.  Since my partners family were visiting yesterday before I went to work in the afternoon, and his Mum specifically asked me to keep the tree up I decided no other part of the house was going to be “unlucky”.  So I cleaned up the kitchen, washed all the dishes, swept the floor, my partner took out the garbage, and I tidied up the rest of the house.  Looked almost good enough for an inspection, and somehow we’ve even mostly managed to keep it that way.

Other than this, I also decided to make a good start for the year.  Yes I did stay up and see the new year in, but I went to bed at 1am.  Even though I laid there awake for sometime I was determined that I was going to sleep, I must’ve gotten to sleep some time around 3am unfortunately, but I’m creating good, new habits.  Yesterday I made a good start to the year, I even got up around 8am, did my pilates workout, and packed rice cakes and tuna for work the last two days.  I felt really pleased with my new efforts.  Today after work my partner and I went shopping for a few healthy meal ideas, it was pretty tame, we went in with a plan of chicken fillets and maybe some steak if the butcher was still open, and I think we’ve come home with enough options to last us well over a week.

Here’s our weeks plan – in no particular order:

  • Chicken and vegetable kebabs
  • BBQ chicken kebabs
  • Steak and veggies
  • Satay chicken
  • Beef stroganoff
  • Honey mustard chicken – stir fry style
  • Italian tomato chicken – stir fry style
  • Creamy tomato fettuccine
  • Pumpkin soup (meal plan for work)
  • ?Mushroom risotto (meal plan for work)

Tonight he wants homemade pizza, and although I would love to finally make some pizza bases we’re using up some old smaller frozen ones.  But we’re planning just to use up some left over veggies and some chicken.

 

I’m really tired today after having had a quick shift today and not had much sleep the last two nights.  Which always leaves me overly motivated, and since I have two days off now I’m planning what to do with my time.  We have decided to make this year a productive year, we’ve had the “fluff year”, where it seems we didn’t really accomplish anything substantial and this year we’re going to make progress.

I have a few goals for these few days, I would like to maintain my new sleep routine.  I want to get to bed early and get up before 9am, hopefully at 8am.

  • Meal prep for the week (cook and freeze pumpkin soup and mushroom risotto)
  • Clean bathroom, kitchen and laundry thoroughly
  • Clean car
  • Something creative
  • Take a few hours out for complete leisure
  • Pilates and yoga

I’m trying to make sure each week I zone out!  Part of my new years resolution to take some more time for me.  Even if it means I spend tomorrow morning doing all the housework and meal prep, then I get Saturday for just me.  Or I could share half and half.  I’ll see how I feel.  I’m planning to start the year, motivated, organised and relaxed!

We all, always have new beginnings.  Make the most of your motivation and seize the day.  But, remember even if your day doesn’t go as planned, consider it a write off and start again tomorrow.  Tomorrow is another day.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

