Can We Change Our Long-Term Habits?

Since we’re all in the early beginnings of new years resolutions and planning new goals and aspirations for the year, I’m wondering if there are some things we just can’t change?

Incase you’re wondering where this is coming from, I am definitely not a morning person these days.  When I was in high school, I would have those days where I would wake up early sometimes with the sun because my room didn’t really keep the sunshine out, but when my alarm went off at 7am there was no hesitation.  I was up and going immediately, I never once snoozed the alarm, and never once laid there thinking I’ll get up soon and fell back to sleep.  Not like I do these days.

new habitsPart of my new plan for this year is to get up earlier in the mornings because I feel like I waste my days off, plus I want to get to bed earlier on work nights which makes sense.  I would love to get up early enough that I can get things done, or go for a walk/run when the sun has just started coming up.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that don’t like mornings, but more that I can’t get myself up early.  I woke up this morning when the house was barely light and I actually felt ok, not too tired, but silly me figured I could sleep a little longer and then I woke up at 11.

So it leads me to wonder…  Can we change these habits?  Or is a deeper lack of determination on our parts?  Are we just too weak?  Don’t get me wrong, I have the determination to get back there.  I just have to force myself to get up with the alarm, which sometimes isn’t as easy as it probably sounds.  I would like to go from 3 alarms to just one.  I think the early nights are a start in the right direction, we need sleep and adjusting our start time should also adjust our bedtime.

I’ve been thinking this could be applied to many other areas.  And, I was also thinking today, does breaking one habit mean we have to replace it with another?  For example I used to eat when I was bored and thus gained in excess of 50kgs, now I’ve almost lost that weight I’ve noticed when I’m bored I reach for a drink instead.  They say that smokers often gain weight when they quit because they have to do something with their hands, makes me wonder if we can ever truly just be.  Do we have to be doing something, or would this better be labelled a hobby?

Can we change habits or are we merely creating substitutes?  And, what does it take?  21 days like they say, or can we do it over night if we truly put our minds to it?  I think I use too many excuses these days.  If I had no other choice I could probably just do it.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

