Your To-Do List Is Never Set In Stone

At the beginning of the year we all make such grand plans and goals for ourselves that sometimes we feel like they’re all so unachievable.  The thing is no matter how big the plans are you have to start somewhere.  If you want to love 20kgs, you start with smaller changes to your diet and maybe start some steady exercise, it might not seem like much but it will be a start and you can evaluate your progress and determine if you need to increase those changes or be content with how you’re going.

sleepingIt’s so easy to be pulled down with our inadequacies.  I didn’t really get much done today that I had hoped to accomplish.  Although I did make some bread for my soup, that I will now have to make tomorrow, but that’s ok because I can make my partners soup at the same time.

I see so many people I know posting on facebook about their plans this year, some realistic some that seem unachievable.  I know I’ve done the same in the past, and I have a goal that I’m not sure is possible or not, but it’s a long term goal.  I am aware of that, and I am chipping away at it, but every so often I feel like I’m letting myself down.  The only way to approach these situations is to take a step back, evaluate the process and make a plan for tomorrow.  No one is perfect and we can’t be good all the time, sometimes life gets in the way, or circumstances, but we must go with the flow.

Your to-do list is never set in stone, things can be changed, postponed, rescheduled.  The shower scum won’t be going anywhere, the washing won’t spontaneously combust and the dishes won’t fall down the drain.  What’s the worst thing that could happen if you don’t get around to something?  Someone in your household might notice and give you a hand, or you can get around to it tomorrow.

This is a message I need to remind myself of from time to time, especially when I feel like I have little control.  I often find myself bending over backwards to help people out, only to find I’ve left myself at a disadvantage.

My first day back at work is Sunday afternoon, and I have a plan to be all ready and organised.  I’m catching up on washing tonight, I’ve made bread today, I’m making a batch of soup tomorrow (that will cover work meals for the week), I have the weeks dinners planned.  Hopefully some yoga tomorrow, and maybe a clean up around the house, relaxation and an early night.

Be as prepared as you can be, and if all else fails get through the day and start again tomorrow.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

