“Before-and-After Weight-Loss Photo” Phonies

I’ve been noticing a lot of posts of facebook, in advertisements and weight-loss websites showing before and after photos.  The before photo is always someone looking at least 10kgs heavier then the after photo, and in some cases the after photo barely resembles the before photo.  Sometimes they seem to have acquired abs and a tan to go with it, which I realise isn’t that unrealistic, but what really gets me are the women who lose weight in all the right places but gain volume in the chest, and again I realise that could be an artificial enhancement done afterwards.  But I have come across this blog post that I wanted to share with you.

Couch potato eating and watching TVIt’s the second of it’s kind that I’ve come across, the other was a personal trainer who was also fed up with these images and decided to make her own pictures to demonstrate just how easy it is to create an effective weight-loss picture.  She said the things she tried were clothes that fit well and didn’t create any “muffin” areas, posture was important and lighting.  It’s amazing what you can do with so little, and amazing ads can get away with this.

Here’s the link of the one I found tonight, it’s interesting to see how big a transformation you can see between the two pictures, when he states the only differences were again lighting, shaving and “sucking it in”.  Plus he did some exercise prior.  But they were an hour between.

Vegan-weight-loss-planLet’s not be fooled by misleading images, lets make real transformations the old fashioned and only way to keep it off.  Lifestyle changes, healthy eating and regular exercise.  Fad diets are never the secret to keeping it off, getting it off maybe, but they never last.

Makes me wonder, how come we have so much media saturation with fad diets, colon cleansers, meal placements, appetite suppressants etc, all parading these types of images.  But little information out there for real old fashioned weight control.  What kind of a message is this sending out to teenagers and children when weight control is such a big problem at the moment?  And is there enough information out there on what we should be eating?  Or is that left up to our own curiosity?

When I was 43kgs heavier I didn’t realise just how bad the foods were that I was consuming.  And as I started to take back control and re-learn what I should be eating it seemed so simple.  But, all the things we shouldn’t eat are the same products we are being advertised on tv and billboards, and these diet and weight-loss fads seem like miracle answers with little effort requirements.  AND THIS IS WHAT SELLS!  Seemingly realistic results, these images look like people taking “selfies”, not the old fashioned images where it was just a front on and side shot.

apple heart This topic upsets me because I know that obesity is affecting people’s lives, physically, emotionally and psychologically, and I think that for the people who really want to do something about it, there are often little affordable options.  I am currently eating the healthiest I have since I moved out of home, but the problem is the expense, I could halve my bill by eating from the the supermarket freezer, or out of a packet, not to mention it’s time consuming and if it wasn’t important to me I could easily find better things to do with my time.  So I understand why I did it, and why so many people still do it.  We all know what we should be eating to some degree, but cost and convenience comes first these days.  Just look at how the supermarket is structured, fruit and veg would be lucky to take up a quarter of the store, where I shop it’s probably more like 1/6 of the supermarket, and they are often out of the items I’m looking for.  More inconvenience…  Now I have to shop around to find it.

After all, weight is controlled long-term 70% in the kitchen!  Not from a pill, powder, miracle exercise equipment with no dietary changes or from supplements.

If these people truly believed in their product they wouldn’t need to lie about it!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

