Meal Planning: Easy Meal Ideas

I’ve been really busy at work the last few days, and I dare say I will be again tomorrow, so tonight we just had an easy dinner. I watched some DVD episodes of one of my favourite tv shows, while I did some Pilates and yoga… While dinner was in the oven.

This week was all about getting back into a routine, and being organised again. I should really get back to the gym, but for the moment I feel I’ve been getting just as much from my workouts at home… I’ve even considered letting go of my gym membership, but I really do enjoy the classes, and is don’t really do much cardio outside the gym. After all I can’t go for a run because it hurts my knees too much.

So tonight was an easy night. My partner wanted steak and I was opting for chicken kebabs and a warm veggie salad, so I improvised. He had steak, chicken kebabs and grilled onion and tomato while I had kebabs and a warm veggie salad. Which inspired me to prepare lunch for work… So tomorrow I’m having a salad including two eggs I poached in the thermomix for the first time.

20140106-220150.jpg

They may not be that pretty, but it was a lot easier than I thought it would be, and the best part was I could multitask which is what I love about my thermie.

If you’re looking for cost effective easy dinners, I like anything that can go into a machine and that I can walk away from. Either the oven or the thermomix these days. Yesterday it was tomato soup, shaslicks and homemade turkish bread for my partner, I just had the shaslicks.

20140106-220459.jpg

Even slow cooker or pre-made salads are an easy option. During the week I like to have quick preparation meals or I find most of my evening is spent either cooking dinner or cleaning up the kitchen. Mostly I like making something new, but it’s also convenient to have something in the freezer ready to go, this week my stand-by meal is pumpkin soup. Mostly it’s come in handy for work dinners and lunches.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

