Rewards – Something To Look Forward To – Not An Excuse To Lapse In Progress

As you know part of my new year resolution as most people’s is, to eat better and improve my exercise regime.  I haven’t been too bad, I’ve been back to the gym, I’ve been into my yoga and I’ve just been for my first run around the streets where we live for the first time since we moved about 6 months ago.

Currently we’re not eating too badly, my partner and I have both been on health kicks.  His problem is he goes hard or goes home, so at the moment he’s gone all out.  Whereas I’m a little more practical.  I don’t mean that in a negative way, but I strongly believe you can’t quit everything and go cold turkey.  It has to be about little changes.  Like starting off by only eating at home, then smaller meals, then healthier smaller meals, and of course adding in exercise.

I don’t always get it right, in fact most of the time I get it wrong, or at least I don’t get it all right, I might get a quarter of it in the right place.  For instance today I ate healthy, I probably ate a little too much, but I tried to compensate with my exercise.  No this doesn’t count, as we know it’s more about what we eat than how much we move.  But I must admit my downfall was hot cross buns and bread.  Now I have it out of my system it’s time to move on.  I have another downfall just around the corner.  My birthday, which means dinner out and probably alcohol and dessert.  But I figure I can work really hard from now until then and then afterwards too.  Really no more than I should normally but sometimes a special occasion is something to look forward to, and from time to time that’s all we need, is something to look forward to.

My partner and I were almost thinking about a holiday over my birthday weekend, but I thought about it and rather than rushing it because there isn’t all that long to go, we’ve decided to wait and find the perfect destination and I can get a few more days off work than I currently have available.  Give us something to work towards, and something to look forward.  Sometimes we have to set ourselves achievable goals and rewards to look forward to to make it all worthwhile.  Not that the results won’t be worth the effort alone.  But, sometimes it’s nice to have a little more at our disposal to help keep us on track.  I haven’t been on a holiday in a long long time.  The more I think about it the more I can’t wait.  So it’s time to earn it.

Getting back into the rhythm this week.  I have a tupperware party next week, so that means some more fridgesmart containers and hopefully our veggies will stay fresher for longer.  I’m battling to fit everything into the ones I have, and although it doesn’t sound like a big deal I like to have my fridge organised and I really do notice the difference in how long my fruit and veggies last when I use them.  Besides I figure I should get some reward from my birthday.  Why not feed my need for more kitchen items.  Even though my partner tells me all the time how cluttered our kitchen is…  It might just be time we sorted through it.

Anyways, tomorrow is night duty.  I have two nights then 4 days off.  I can’t wait.  I just wanted to post some motivation, goodness knows I’ve needed it the last few days.

Tomorrow is meal prep, exercise and tidying the house, ready for days off.  I can’t wait to relax with some creative ideas I’ve had recently!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Inspirational, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

