Peer Pressure Is Ruining My Diet!

How can you manage temptations when someone else is pressuring you?  It’s so hard when you have family who notice your efforts and pressure you into sabotaging them.  I struggle with my efforts daily, more so these days.  I have the best intensions, and I try to make the right choices but sometimes those who are around me looking at my progress and assume I got here by not eating.  Which I can assure was not how I made it, and I still struggle as you probably noticed if you’ve read older posts.

My brother accuses me of not eating, and says I should just have some food.  Little does he know I went out for a BIG breakfast this morning after my night duty.  It consisted of scrambled eggs, toast, bacon, a hash brown, tomato and I added mushrooms.  Of course I couldn’t eat all of it, but I ate a fair amount of it sadly, and now I’m paying for it.  I could feel my tummy cringing ever since, I feel bloated and my intestines are doing back flips at the moment to deal with it all.

temptationMy partner isn’t much help either at times.  I guess we all have bad days and he looks forward to “tasty meals”, which could range between pizza to something home-cooked.  But, when I don’t feel like cooking because I’m exhausted it often becomes something easy and fast.  I try to make the right choices, but sometimes I get bullied or made to feel bad by him too because he feels guilty for eating junk food when I’m trying hard.  He likes to eat healthy too, and he has similar goals to me, unfortunately we weaken each other from time to time.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m no angel, there have been times I’ve used food to bribe him, so I really have no grounds to complain.

So my plan was to be really good this week ready for a dinner I have on the weekend, but I feel like today I blew it.  Monday and Tuesday I went for a jog in the streets for the first time in over 6 months.  If felt so good to be out in the fresh air, it’s totally different to a session on the cross trainer or treadmill at the gym.  Then I followed up with yoga Tuesday and Wednesday, last night I was so sore I felt like I’d really made some progress I could even feel it.  I’m still feeling the effects today even, but I still have this over bearing bloating I can’t seem to shake.

So this leads me to wonder if I have found a new goal to tackle.  Not giving into temptation, staying stronger than those around me, and watching my portion and choices when I’m out.  This may be difficult when going out if it’s spontaneous and you’re really hungry, but start with something small and see how you feel.  I often do that at home and I find I’m satisfied.

I know they say that diet is more what you eat than how you move.  But, I often tend to think you can help your body compensate a little, even if it’s only psychological and start again tomorrow.  After all surely exercising before a meal or a few hours after has got to help aid my digestion.  Just a theory!

I’m prepared for the weekend, I’ve already looked up the menu and I have a pretty good idea of what I plan to order.  They seem to have a pretty yummy looking pumpkin salad, and I’m thinking my partner would like bruschetta for entree, I can live with that.

This whole situation makes me wonder…  Are those around us who seem to be hindering our progress envious of our results, and why can’t they join us rather than set us back.  And, why can’t I just stand my ground?  That’s my goal this weekend.  No concerns regarding outside influence, I know what the right choice is.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

