Interview Jitters, Or Something Else? We Fear Judgement – But Pass Our Own So Easily

What do you think of the whole panel interview process?  I have trouble!  I get so nervous I don’t know how I will ever get through it.  Well, today I had an interview basically for the same job I currently have but it was for a permanent position rather than the temporary contract I have now.

I was so anxious and stressed about it I’ve been asking co-workers for a week about what kinds of questions I would be asked, I spent yesterday preparing for it, then I made sure I got out of bed in time to brush up on some things I thought might be asked.  As it turns out the interview was quick and painless, they asked only basics which was a relief!

It makes me wonder, what else do we get so worked up about for nothing?  I have experiences I don’t prefer to engage in sometimes, and I think it leads to me building it up in my mind, into something it’s not.  Like night duty at work, sometimes a cardio session at the gym and presentations in front of peers or even meeting new people.  I don’t know what it is, maybe a fear of failing, a lack of confidence but it’s impossible to be talked down from this.

It’s so hard to put yourself out there, to be judged.  It’s hard to bear what you have on the outside, but what can we do to ease these fears?  After-all we aren’t all the same, yet what do we do, we judge ourselves based on other people.  We compare ourselves to other women, to other people.  With regards to our size, our skills, how much money we make, what kind of car we drive, the size and location of the house we live in and our families.  We often don’t really stop to wonder what is the best I can be?  We can’t all be the same, those positions would all be filled, and we are different let’s face it.  My genes prevent me from being a tiny size, I don’t make as much as some of the people I know, we all have differing personalities and that limits or excels us all in different areas.

So have a think about what you want out of life, focus on those things and don’t let society or peer pressures influence what you do.  In the morning don’t judge yourself in the mirror by movie stars or models with unrealistic body sizes, don’t envy the car your co-worker drives, and don’t worry about the size of your house.  Be happy with who you are, your own progress and take a moment to be thankful for what you do have, rather than what you don’t have.  After all it’s not our money or belongings that define us.  It’s our personality, our values and our drive that defines who we are.  These things will come out in your purchase tastes, how you decorate your house, and what car you purchase.  But take some time to set your own goals, not plan to accomplish someone else’s.

At the end of the day, we all make judgements, of ourself and of others.  Remember we can only influence that judgement momentarily, if that’s not who you truly are it will come out eventually.  Think about life like a relationship, you can act a certain way for a while but by the time you live together and spend more time with each other they will start to realise things about you.  Like how often you wash your sheets, how clean your bathroom is, how many home-cooked meals you make and the quality of your cooking.  But those things you tried so hard to cover up were there all along, be honest with yourself.

I’m not exempt from this, I eat well at work no junk food, usually always something cooked at home and almost never pre-packaged food.  For the most part I do the same at home as much as I can.  But there are times when I just want to have chocolate, biscuits and soft drink.  Usually I wait until I get home.  I also don’t always exercise as often as I should, and sometimes my housework falls behind, but realising I’m getting behind in these areas inspires me to catch up.  That’s what I like to share, not to show off how clean my toilet is, or how healthy my meals are, but to maybe share my enthusiasm with someone else.  After all that’s what I get out of other people’s posts, sometimes I see a healthy meal post or a packed lunch idea and it makes me think about what I could prepare for myself and my partner.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

