Why Do We Complicate The Simple Tasks?

It must be time for a detox plan for next week. We had take out tonight for convenience and I’m regretting it. I have been relatively good lately cooking meals at home, although it has been a little heavy in some areas I would love to avoid a little more. Plus I’m inspiring myself with more tupperware for my collection. Antarctica containers and the new vent fruit and veggie containers. I’m hoping to inspire myself to prepare some meals I can freeze for later, and maintain our fresh veggie stock.

However, in the meantime while I wait for more items I need to focus on addressing my diet. Last night we had satay chicken, and I had left overs today for lunch, but previously my partner cooked creamy pasta in the thermomix, and homemade pizzas. I want to get back to healthy options, lots of salad, fruit and veggies, and some protein.

Tomorrow I’m starting with tuna and thin rice cakes for lunch, dinner will be something healthy with left over veggies. I’ve been thinking about it and I’m putting together a list of easy dinner ideas to use up fruit and veggies perishables before they are wasted.

Vegetable bake (I need to find a good healthy homemade sauce that does not involve cream or too much cheese)
Frittata
Warm veggies salad with olive oil dressing
Veggie pizza using a wrap as the base
Wraps/burritos
Stuffed capsicums
Potato skins
Salad
Stir fries
Steamed veggies

Remember sometimes the simplest things are the best! I sometimes get so caught up in cooking some thing special I forget to keep it simple. When I was a kid it was meat and three veg, we had something easy on Saturday nights (usually eggs and sausages, or red meat and hot chips), and Sunday nights we’d gave dessert. Every other night we ate healthy, vegetables and red meat. We had no deficiencies, none of us were over weight, in fact I was in the lower healthy range percentile. Whatever happened to those days? Why do kids expect dessert each night? And why do we need such large sophisticated meals? Why is it so bad to have boiled or steamed veggies with no sauce, and that’s not part of a dish? A pile of peas, beans, broccoli, carrot and mashed potato was what I expected as a kid. I never turned my nose up at cauliflower, I preferred not to have brussels sprouts, but I would still eat them. And, dessert was a treat!

Now we are always looking for what comes next… Instead of smelling the rose we’re wondering how long until the next bud blossoms. Why can’t we stop and appreciate what we have in our hands rather than reaching out for what’s next?

I want to get back to basics… Veggie classics this week. Avoiding carbs where possible for a week or so. Wish me luck! Time to get organised, prepared and back on track!

With so many stories in the media of celebrities and their eating disorder issues and extreme workouts, where did health go wrong? And where did we go wrong, risking it for superficial images. We can get all the nutrients we need from nature, from what we find on a plant and from animals. Why complicate life when it can be so easy. I think I was born to the wrong era, I wish we had a more simple existence. Healthy, easy home cooking and friendly company… What else do we need? With those two simplistic ideas there is no room for negativity, just calm, peacefulness. Combining a necessity with a comfort!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

