A “ME” DAY

I’m cleaning up the house today, tidying up the kitchen to make room for my new tupperware, cleaning the bathroom and getting on top of all the washing (most of which I did last night).  I know this sounds silly but for me cleaning up the house is like clearing my mind.  I feel so totally at ease and relaxed afterwards, then I can fully relax into some yoga and maybe something I want to do for myself.

me timeThis week I’m getting it all back together, I have no night duty this roster so I have no reason not to get my routine back under control.  So I’m starting with a clean house, meals planned for the week, and some relaxation.  Hopefully not just for today, but I want to keep this up throughout the week, and into the one after and the one after that.  But, remember we have to keep it small and figure out what works for next time.

changeFor me I just want to hang out at home for the moment.  I would like to lay on the couch with a book or some craft, maybe attempt the second row of this blanket I’ve started to crochet.  I just don’t have any experience so it takes me a while to get it right.  But for me a day to myself to just be, is all I really want.  No going out, no worrying about other people, no headaches just me.  The couch, a cup of tea, and something relaxing to pass the time.

I want to do this from time to time.  I have a plan to maintain the house with the help of my partner, this way I can keep a day off to myself and a day off for him.  Part of my new years resolution was not to forget about myself, so now I’m making time for me.  In this busy life we all seem to be living it seems that the one thing we over look, time out to ourselves.  Is this why so many people struggle, with all that technology out there, we’re never really ever alone anymore.

 

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A “ME” DAY

  1. I feel exactly the same – sometimes it is great to look around your house when it is neat and tidy and to just chill and make something! I have posted some really simple craft ideas on my blog if you are interested 🙂

Leave a Reply

