My MEntal health DAY(S)

mental health ticketI think I’ve enjoyed my “MEntal health DAY” more than I was expecting.  Usually when I have time to myself I just don’t know what to do with it, but maybe there’s something to be said for not having too much time to ones self.

I’ll start with yesterday.  I had a really productive day, I know productive doesn’t sound too relaxing but you would be surprised if I’d said I actually enjoy cleaning up and getting the house into order.  It’s almost like a kind of therapy, and I highly recommend it.  It’s almost like by cleaning up the house and getting it all into order I have somehow emptied my own head space, and cleared it out a little.  I feel like it’s the starting point to me getting relaxed, and getting into the mindset of taking it easy.  So my day started with tidying, my partner has a dodgy sleeping pattern at the moment and he’s been staying up late at night and sleeping from early morning (about sunrise) until 2-3pm, so I tried to keep the cleaning to be as quiet as I could.  I tidied everything up, put away the last of the washing, made myself a banana, avocado and berry smoothie with almond milk, then I got into the thorough mode.  I cleaned out my tupperware cupboard ready for the arrival of my new order, I tidied up the baking/cooking cupboard, washed down the window sills, cupboard doors and walls in the kitchen.  Next I moved onto the bathroom, and my part was done.  My partner had promised to vacuum for me so I left that to him and the garbage.  That’s our agreement, and it works for the most part, he just needs the occasional reminder.

With a clean environment I have the most of it in order, that’s the biggest wall between anarchy and freedom at home for me.  It’s amazing the difference it can make for me to walk into a clean house after work, or even waking up to one.  That’s why I like to get the washing up and laundry done before bed, sometimes even a clean up can help, but I’d been a bit slack with the busy week I had last week, and the migraine the last few days.  So next was yoga.  I had been a little slack with the yoga the last few days, so it was challenging still and I really felt good afterwards and even better today when I woke up

20140128-233333.jpg

with a little burn in the legs.  I always stand by the “no pain no gain” idea, I know it’s not necessarily right, but I always feel like I’ve made progress when I can feel it after the

workout.  Anyway, afterwards during the wind-down of the workout I was so relaxed I almost fell asleep.

I got myself motivated and got up, I commenced some cooking preparation for the week ahead.  I now have pumpkin soup prepared for this week, and left overs from my partners dinner last night.  Finally I curled up on the lounge and watched tv.  It was nice to finally stop and appreciate some time doing nothing.

Toda20140128-233358.jpgwas less productive, but a good continuation of yesterday.  I simply relaxed on the couch for most of the day, started crocheting some granny squares, which I have realised I’m really not very good at.  Either I’m using the wrong sized needle or I need to tighten the tension, either way it was more about the experience.  I might as well finish it though and maybe I can learn along the way anyhow, plus I need to learn how to join them anyway, so I think I will continue with it.  It was nice to sit around the house with nothing I “needed” to do.  No to-do list, no clutter, just peacefulness.

20140128-233351.jpgI cooked an easy dinner, my partner had steak and grilled onion, while I had half a capsicum stuffed with left over pasta bake from last night and a warm vegetable salad.  I know it’s later than I had planned, the day seems to have flown, but it must be time for yoga, shower and bed time.

I actually feel really good about my mental health time these last two days, and I recommend doing the same to anyone who feels like they are struggling to keep up.  I got the chance to get my house in order, prepare meals for the week ahead and take some time out for myself.  If I did this once a month I think that would be just what I need, if I get a chance to do that more often…  Even better.  But to tell you the truth I really haven’t had a chance to do this since I had annual leave about May last year, and although I feel like I’m ready to get back to work tomorrow, I really loved just being not doing!  We all need a mental health day from time to time, and this experience has reminded me how important it is to remember ourselves sometimes.  We will be better off for it!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

