Becoming A Morning Person – Probable or Impossible?

Just a quick post this afternoon.  This week is going to be my week for getting back my night sleeping.  I did overtime night duty last night after an afternoon shift, I’ve had about 5hrs sleep, off for an afternoon shift, then a quick shift tomorrow morning.  If this doesn’t get me tired enough to sleep tonight and then again tomorrow night I don’t know what will.

I have a goal to be up earlier in the mornings, especially the ones I don’t have to work.  I like the feeling of the early mornings, I can just never be motivated enough to get out of bed.  I like the thought of getting more done earlier in the morning, and it would even be nice to get outside, I would love to do that.  Might be nice even just to get my computer and go outside and write for a change.  I’m very motivated at times, just not when my first alarm goes off in the morning.

So tonight I have a plan, yoga, shower and bed – I’m hoping that can become my quick shift night routine.  Then tomorrow I can get into what I’m hoping will become an ongoing routine, cooking dinner earlier, then yoga, shower and bed by 9pm.  I’m thinking if I can get dinner over with earlier, which is beneficial because I don’t like to eat anything after 7:30 if I can help it anyway, then I can get into yoga by 7:30, be in the shower and ready by 9.  That’s my aim for this week.  I really think the yoga will help because it makes me so relaxed that I should be in the right frame of mind for sleep, a clear head, calm and relaxed.

This seems to be my biggest self control issue.  I can manage my exercise, my diet and even my shopping tendencies but sleep is something I have always struggled with.  I don’t understand why I can’t find going to bed something to look forward to, I bought a really comfortable mattress that I never want to get out of in the mornings, but for some reason it’s like i just need to keep trying to find entertainment in the evenings.  It doesn’t help that my partner is a night owl, and he likes having me up at night, but with my roster of earlier mornings it takes it’s toll and I don’t get enough sleep.  But, now he’s about to start studying, maybe he can get on board with me.

How does someone become a morning person?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

