Words Don’t Make Change – Action Does

When we are feeling down, we haven’t eaten well this week, we haven’t done the exercise we’d have like to do then what comes next?  What do you do to move forward?  Because sitting around feeling bad for ourselves is never going to help.

stuck in rutI think I’m getting out of my rut!  The way I do it is by planning.  I make a plan for what I want to do to change my situation, actually putting it into action the next day isn’t as easy and it takes a lot of motivation some days.  The other thing that holds me back is my progress.  Sometimes I just think I’m not doing so bad, I’m managing my weight, I’m within my healthy weight range so long as I don’t put weight on I haven’t really lost anything.  However if I continue to eat poorly and don’t get back into my exercise regime the part that makes me feel bad is just that, the feeling I get.  I can barely put it into words but after eating greasy food, food full or sugar or even overeating I feel sluggish, bloated and I just want to digest it and get rid of it.  Sometimes I even wonder if the taste was really worthwhile, to the point sometimes that I don’t even want to think about eating the same food ever again.

ladderSo what gets me out of my rut other than the feeling I get from being in the rut?  I find inspiration from reading about other people’s success, seeing inspirational images, reading and watching inspirational stories, watching tv shows with people who I look up to, people who are healthy, fit and toned.  I also find motivation from watching cooking shows, even sometimes from infomercials.  I see them exercising or eating well and it motivates me to do the same, I’m not really sure why, maybe because they make it seem so easy and I always believe that we build these things up in our minds to be worse than they actually are.  I am encouraged by exercise too, I know it releases endorphins and I feel it after exercising, whether it’s yoga, netball or a cardio workout I always feel so much better afterwards.

So how do we put this new found motivation into action?  I think it’s a good idea to plan a healthy change with someone, be accountable (I think I’ve blogged about this before), for me I use my partner.  We often find we get motivated together, sometimes even by the same things.  We did well with the 4:2:1 diet we were trying, but the 500 calorie days were hard to get through sometimes and when I work sometimes 7 days in a row it can be even harder, as for him he was home and I think sometimes the bordom gets to him.  Tonight we have found a new motivation, he’s got some weight around his waist (really the only place on his body) that he wants to lose, and I could do with some too.  Mostly toning for me, but I figure a detox wouldn’t go astray either.

20131216-033144.jpgSo tonight he came out as an infomercial came on about the soup mate, I’ve seen it over and over again and it annoys us.  Soup is not some new weightloss idea, and we have a thermomix, so we thought why not try soup for a week and use it as a way to get more nutrients into our bodies and hopefully lose a few kilos in the meantime.

Now my partner isn’t really into vegetables, although he loves his vegetable soup.  So I thought I would harness is motivation too and I have a plan.  Soup for him, plenty of it, while for me I’ll have a mixture of soup and vegetable salad (something he would never eat).  I’m also planning to make a few more changes.

1. Increase my fruit and vegetable intake – include fibre and whole grains
2. Increase my cardio exercise – this means back to the gym
3. Increase my water intake – currently I drink so much coffee and tea I don’t think there’s much pure water in there at all and funnily enough the exercise will actually encourage my water intake, but really when you think about it it will actually increase my water requirements – risking a potential migraine and I would like to prevent that
4. Sleep – I need to ensure I get around 8hrs a night.  At the moment I don’t think I get enough, and when I get the chance I have trouble getting out of bed – recently I actually slept for 24hrs
5. Relaxation – I’m planning to make the most of my days off, harnessing my creativity, hobbies, and taking the chance to just relax with a book, or with tv or even sitting outside for a while.

dream desire wake upPlanning ahead doesn’t stop there, those are only words, and we are all talk when we’re motivated.  But this is today and it all starts tomorrow, so how do I ensure I actually do something about it?  I’ve made a shopping list for tomorrow, everything on that list is perishable and non-freezable (well most of it – I think you can freeze milk).  So tonight I am heading off to bed next, it’s not too late.  Up by 8am, and hopefully I can get in some shopping and exercise before work tomorrow.  Not so sure about the time for food shopping but I’ll see what I can do.  Then off to bed as soon as I get home from afternoon shift tomorrow.

body bookNow tv isn’t the only inspiration for my changes tonight, I’m also reading “the body book” by Cameron Diaz.  I’m actually excited about learning more things about my body and how I can best feed and exercise it.  I think there will be some really useful information in it.  Plus I’m glad I’m getting back into reading something that isn’t from a website, I haven’t been doing much reading lately and it’s something I would like to add to my evening routine.

My prevention plan is to be organised.  I’m not buying any food I don’t want to eat, and I’m planning to start with as much liquid as I can (soup and smoothies), as well as all nutrients, vegetables, fruit and protein.  I’m planning to attend cardio workout at least 3 times a week, maintain my regular yoga which I often do while watching tv, and get ready for an early bed time.  Of course there is only so much planning I can do, but I have a higher chance of success if I plan ahead.  And, keeping a food and exercise diary will help me keep track of how well I’m doing.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised, Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

