Maintaining My DownTime!

I’ve had a pretty busy couple of weeks with work and overtime.  I don’t get much of a chance to hang out with my friends or family lately, and my days off are usually my opportunity to catch up around the house and prepare for the oncoming week.

20140210-135739.jpgI’m currently on day two of three days off in a row.  My partner is having his first official day in his new course so now he’s gone for 7 hours, which means the house is now all mine.  I spent some time last night cleaning up, and yesterday I picked up my Tupperware order so even my fridge and cupboards are organised (well as much as they can be – I’m still trying to organise my pantry space).

20140210-135725.jpgI made a good start to the day, I promised my partner he could have a cooked breakfast this morning so he managed to get me out of bed early.  I was up before 7.  I think I like him studying, and I think I’ll try to make him breakfast each day as it means I can get up too.  So we had poached eggs on toast and now I’m having a coffee.  I have a day lined up of nothing but craft, tv and yoga!  Wonderful.

I’m working on my granny squares for the moment but I would also like to do some more patchwork, I’m just dreading going through the leftovers.  This last week I have spent looking for some storage for my cupboard I have posted about before, it has a huge space blow the rail for hanging clothes and I would like to get some kind of cubed storage in there or a drawer system.  I went op shopping, and even popped into howards storage world, and harvey norman but it’s so hard to find something cheap and suitable.  I don’t want to spend too much because this house is a temporary arrangement, but at the same time I can take whatever I decide on with me.

20140210-141924.jpgI’ve also made bread all ready for either tonight or tomorrow, the only problem with homemade bread is that it’s only fresh for so long, then it becomes toast.  On the plus side I’ve just found a new use for the vintage Tupperware marinater I bought last week.

I must admit, I almost have the house as organised as I can for our current arrangements.  I wouldn’t mind making something to hang on the wall though.  Pity I don’t have a creative bone in my body, that might be helpful.  But, for now I’m just staying organised, ready for the work week ahead with meal plans and the housework under control, and of course there’s always the sleep routine which is working a treat at the moment.  I’m pretty much ready for bed at 9:30 10pm and being out of bed before 7am this morning was definitely a step in the right direction.

20140210-135733.jpgIn the spirit of my downtime, and the fact I started the day with a headache there will be no exercise today, maybe some yoga lately.  However I’m proud of my diet being at home, that’s where I struggle most of the time, when I get bored I often hit the fridge or pantry but not today.  I’ve spent time with granny squares, and cooked bread, and watched tv and dvds.  I feel like I’ve had a really nice slow, relaxing day.  I’ve posted a picture of my lunch, thin rice cakes with quinoa, avocado, cottage cheese and tomato.

Relaxing, while productive.  One more day to go.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Craft, Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

