Meal Plan: Experimenting With Curry

Ok, so they say curry can boost your metabolism.  So today I decided to test that theory.  I couldn’t really decide on a recipe so instead I decided to grab a jar and add my own array of veggies and some cummin seeds…  Just because I can.

20140211-190346.jpg

My Lunch

20140211-221422.jpg

His Dinner Variation – Beef and Rice

It actually turned out quite nice I must say, pretty hot but not over bearing.  The best part is all it contained was vegetables and curry, nothing else.  I got my partner to try it when he got home and he loved it so much he asked me to get some beef strips to pop in it so he can have some for dinner with some wholemeal brown rice.  I can’t believe some of this healthy eating is actually rubbing off, fair call he may have asked me for some Anzac biscuits, but he has been quite good lately.  Now he’s studying he’s packing some fruit or nut bars for lunch, he’s been coming home for healthy snacks of either crackers and cottage cheese with tomato or homemade vegetable soup.

Sounds like I’ve found a winner, so I’ll have to experiment with this curry idea to keep him interested.  I find the biggest struggle is new ideas for dinner, I buy packets sometimes to give me some inspiration, but then I come home and he wants something plain.  It’s so hard to plan ahead when you’re cooking for two and you can’t read their mind, and he is so unpredictable, he likes to “live in the moment” sometimes especially with food.  This is why I have so much trouble planning meals, it could change by the time I get home.  I’ve given up on weekly or fortnightly shops, I’ve found it’s easy just to stock the main things; whatever I eat, plus the veggies I know he’ll eat and I can pick up the odds and ends along the way.  Tonight that was some coconut and stir fry beed strips.

Either way I’ve now found something new for our dinner repertoire.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

