Is The Bucket List Lost?

Days off again.  So I’ve taken the opportunity to veg out again.  I’m sticking to my word about keeping some time for me.  I’m not a very creative person, but I’ve decided to start a new project…  A basket weave crochet rug.  I’m impressed with how easy it was, I basket weavealways think these things are hard to pick up, I did have a little trouble understanding the instructions in a book I have at home, with little images, but I found a video on youtube that shows and explains the process in detail.  It made me wonder, what don’t we have available at our finger tips these days?  Things we have to earn!

In a world where we all want everything now, where has that left us?  The dreams used to be to buy your own home, whatever that happens to be for you is an individual idea you share with your friends and family.  Maybe a new car, a family (children, marriage etc), studying, travelling.  All of these things you would have to earn.  These days young adults are supposedly backing out of the home buying option to have the freedom to travel or live wherever work takes them next, and new cars come first and family seems to be coming last.  In a world where everything seems to have turned upside down what happened to the bucket list?

What is the trend when there doesn’t seem to be one?  I feel like I am a retro, old fashioned woman who has nothing but my career (which is only just beginning) to show for my time.  I’ve been out of school for almost 12 years, but I didn’t know what to do with my life, I thought I did but I changed my mind, I rebelled against university but ended up there anyways.  I think some people have to make their own choices and mistakes to truly learn, my grandparents and parents would often tell me things, I wouldn’t listen and they would turn out to be right and I would be the one picking myself up.  I know my Dad just wants what’s best for me, he wants me to learn from his experience, but I’m too stubborn, I know what I want and I want it now.  That alone has set me back mostly financially.  But I’ve been starting to wonder if I’m finally growing up and if I finally have my priorities right.

These days I am really starting to learn how to appreciate my time, although I love my job it is nice to take some time out.  I’m getting back into craft, I started a rug today, and I’m finally caring about my health which I once took for granted.  I have things I would like to get around to, and I have some bigger milestones and I’m just hoping the world hasn’t lost the same motivation I have at the moment.  To do and be better.

I enjoy the simple things these days, cooking, sewing, crochet (at the moment), yoga, reading and I am trying to stay in touch with my friends and family.  I have a bucket list, old fashionedand a yearning for more.  After all what do we do with life if we have nothing to strive for?  What happens to people who have everything they think they want?  They find out something is missing, as far as I can see that’s because we were meant to strive and earn our way through life.  Life is challenge and a blessing, the road we’re born into, the way we’re nurtured and the values we harbour will guide our direction, the way we travel and the choices we make.  Those who are given everything need to find a new way to be humbled, it’s the only way we can truly appreciate what we have.  If we can’t appreciate what we have now, how do we know we will ever appreciate what we have in the future?

What is on your bucket list?  Mine is to have a family, buy our own house, continue my studies to become a more skilled nurse.  They are the big things, but I also have some other things, I would like to have experiences.  Travel, there are things I would like to see, kind of like the movie I would like to see something “majestic” since I’ve lived in one area my entire life, only travelled outside of it maybe a handful of times, and not very far.  However at the same time I feel I encounter really humbling experiences at work, and I think these experiences also humble the people we become.

So I guess what I’m saying is that we need meaning, we need to yearn, we need to earn and have something to strive for.  Even if that isn’t something we have to pay for, we invest time for it all the same.  That’s why a handmade quilt will always have more value than one picked up on a discount, it’s the thoughtful gesture, the time we spent making it and the planning, also of course the endearment behind it all for the person receiving it.  It makes me wonder about us these days though, it seems this is a dying art.  It’s considered something older women do, but I think it’s something important that would be such a shame to have die out.  Maybe I’m just old-fashioned and care too much for tradition, but I don’t like to see history lost.  I would just like to see old-world values continue.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

