Identifying With Role Models

After two days of watching Sex and the City I think I’ve come to the conclusion I admire Carrie’s character.  Not for the reasons you would think, given the content of the show, not for relationships or sex advice but for who she is as a person.  We all have role models, even if we don’t realise it.  Someone who we look up to that helps shape who we are, who’s values we would like to make our own, someone who motivates and inspires us.

Don’t get me wrong, Carrie doesn’t have it all together, but I believe no one really does.  She’s 38 and single, and sometimes I wonder if she knows what she really wants.  But she does what she has to in order to support herself, when she’s about to lose her apartment she gets a second job, when she’s in a rut she always has her friends and they always have her.  She’s strong yet always has that gentle innocent nature.  She seems to have nothing tying her down, and what I admire is that she doesn’t watch tv, and her apartment compliments her as a person.  Books and magazines, a couple of chairs, and desk and a bed.  Of course she has a kitchen but she never uses it, oh and of course there’s her closet.

I think what I like the most is her free-spirited nature, she’s open to anything, well most things as we learn by watching the series.  I would love to just walk out into the street and go have coffee by myself, but I have too many inhibitions about going into a cafe or restaurant on my own, in fact I have too many inhibitions in general.  I wish I could let them go, but for some reason I just never really could.  I guess that’s why I admire her character.

Carrie isn’t my only role model,  I also admire people who remain strong and inspired in the face of adversity, people who have stood up for what they believe in despite the consequences, friends who I know are strong, people who have the right values, and young adults who continue tradition, or who value old world things like being a homemaker.  Not enough women appreciate the value in creating a home, and I think there is so much to be appreciated in keeping a home.  Cooking for family, being able to create things, mend things, not to mention the psychological aspect of what a home is, just being there for them.

I think it’s healthy to find someone who reminds you of the kind of person you want to be, and this doesn’t have to change who you are.  You aren’t becoming them, you just admire their courage, or their honesty, it’s not an appearance thing.  Models make the worst role models, but real people with real values and qualities.

I would love to have the tight group of friends Carrie has, the support network they can talk about anything with over coffee or on the phone, I know that this is dated now but it’s so much better than the social media and texting we have these days.  My partner always says this show is designed to take four very different kinds of women (he says representing most women), and empower them that’s why they’re such good friends and why they are so strong, taking on the big city.  Two of whom have to work in a men-dominated environment, one who is a family oriented, picket fenced type of woman, and Carrie who isn’t either of the others.  Who is just vulnerable to bad situations, she lets herself get hurt, but always manages to pick herself back up again with help from her girl power group.

We’re all so tied down these days with commitments, wouldn’t it be great to just hang out with your friends sometimes, talk about boys and just have fun? Where has all the fun gone? I rarely ever go out with friends, non of my friends ever really go out, I think it’s time we did something about that.  After all at the end of the day “you always have your girlfriends”.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

