Life As A Tool

No one has it wrong or right!  This is something I wish I could share with the world.  While we are all searching for whatever it is that we think we should be, are we missing what’s right there in front of us?

Envy of other people is a downfall many of us posses.  So is it time for us to stop for a moment, take a look around at what we have, congratulate ourselves for getting here and start enjoying the here and now?

Unless we live in third world conditions, don’t have a roof over our heads and food to eat we should count our blessings.  I live in a lucky country, where when we’re legitimately suffering we can get handouts to get us back on our feet.  Anything from assistance to find you a job, to assisting while you study.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not about giving us everything so we don’t have to earn it, but it gives us a fighting start.  It means those who had parents who couldn’t afford to send their children to university can now go, and instead of paying it upfront we create a debt to our government which we pay off once we start working.  This is where I am now, paying off my debt.  But, I don’t see that as a negative, it’s now my turn to give back for my advantage.  It was a tool I utilised to get where I wanted to be.

5179-life-is-a-tool-use-it-well_247x200_widthLife is a tool.  Life provides us with opportunities, all we have to do is identify them, take advantage of them and run with it.  Kind of like the Olympic torch.  You run your own leg of the journey until someone else needs to pick up where you left off.  Like going to university for example, I ran with the torch until the end of my degree, then it’s time to hand my place over to someone else while I move onto the new torch (which for me was becoming a new graduate and giving back).

We all have different journeys, sometimes they are harder than others, but adversity is relative.  Like pain, we experience adversity in differing extremes depending on what we’ve experienced.  For instance my experiences of “adversity” would differ from those who have lost their homes, live in war torn countries, truly disadvantaged.  As my adversity might be just wondering if my bills might be late, or my car broke down, or someone in my family was terminally ill.

So this week when you think your chips are down, stop, take a look around, and be thankful for the blessings you have.  Friends, family, employment, clothes, food, and shelter are all we truly need.  However I think as people we also need to appeal to our mental health, and that means having hope and aspirations, and when we’re down we need inspiration.  I encourage everyone to have a goal, a large goal and milestones towards that.  It could be anything, and it could be something simple.  Maybe a Bucket list, but remember it can change, as we grow we all change.  I never knew what I wanted to do even when I was in high school, so I just did what I thought was expected of me, within my own limitations and I didn’t really push myself too hard.  But as time went on I discovered what I wanted to do, and even now I still have hopes and dreams for my future.  I think it’s who we are!

My challenge this week is to look at what I have, take sometime to enjoy the here and now, and think about what I want to achieve.  There’s no hurry to get there, I believe that’s where depression can sometimes resonate.  What do we do when we have everything we want?  I don’t need much in my life, I guess I live a relatively simple existence.  I work (which I love), I get to be around people which is where I love to be, I have friends and family who I love to catch up with (not that I get to all that often – but that’s ok), and I have a comfortable home.  I love my writing here, I love to read, be creative, create a home and go shopping.  Which is where I’m off to next.

Sometimes it’s hard to see opportunities when they are masked by adversity.  But, if you think about it this way,if adversity hasn’t occurred where would you be now?  For instance I was getting down when it took me 10months to find the job I have now, but had I been successful in other applications I wouldn’t work with the wonderful people I work with, I wouldn’t live where I do now, where I love.

I think sometimes we just get so caught up in the negatives we can’t see the positives that are right there under our noses.  Life is a tool, and it’s all about how you use it.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

