Monday Morning Motivation (my Monday anyway)

Today I head back to work after only doing three days last week.  I think I’m really ready for a holiday, but I know I won’t feel that way once I get on the ward.  I do love my job, but I’ve recently really learnt to appreciate my time off, I’m starting to think I appreciate it a little too much to be honest.  

I feel like my week is very organised, my washing is all caught up, I made soup on Sunday night, and a vegetable frittata last night, so that pretty much has my meals for work sorted for this whole week, and I have my exercise regime all planned out.  I feel ready to head back to work, my house is clean and tidy, I’m even planning to clean out my car a little before I head to work.  I know it sounds silly and I’ve posted about this before, but it means my head is clear.  It’s like a psychological issue, when my surrounding are organised I am relaxed and have a clear head.  It’s like I’ve organised my head as well, there’s nothing cluttering it up, no distractions, nothing I have in mind that I need to do…  Because it’s already all done.  

I’m feeling a little motived this morning too.  And while I’m motivated I thought I would share my new goal, probably not just for this week, but my next milestone if you like.  So last night I did some yoga, probably for the first time in at least 4 days, and as I got to down dog I felt my heels actually touch the ground.  I know that doesn’t sound like such a big deal, but for me it was.  Remembering I’ve come from a place where I could barely tie my shoes comfortably, I lost weight and now I’m starting to see some results.  Of course crow poseit’s the little things that mean the most to us.  So I’ve decided to set another benchmark, and I know this is far from my own ability, but it’s something I’ve decided to work on.  Crow pose.  At the moment I don’t have the upper body strength, and that’s something I’m going to have to work on.  But, I always say once we set our minds to something, we can achieve it (of course within reason – we don’t have the dynamics to fly).  So this is my new development plan.  One of them anyways.  I think we always need to push ourselves, or we’ll never truly know what we’re capable of.  

My favourite part of pushing my limits with yoga is that while practicing I find that I’m actually feeling better for it.  After each session I feel relaxed, I feel like my posture is better, and the feeling I get in my muscles afterwards I would compare to having a total body massage…  For free!  A few of the people I look up to are yogi’s, not conventional ones, but they seem to look outside the box.  Plain and simply because of their personalities, that I see.  They seem so centred, down to earth and relaxed.  They don’t seem to have a stressed bone in their body.  Which I know isn’t true, we all have times when we’re stressed, when adversity kicks us while we’re down.  But I love the effects yoga has, and when it leaves you feeling so great…  How can that be a bad thing?!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

