Nursing Creed: Compassion Until The Very end!

This is just a quick post before bed tonight.

There are just some really beautiful people out there in the world. People who appreciate life, people who appreciate the little things, and people who you just know you are blessed to meet. Some are one and the same, who you just want to bundle up in a little ball and protect from the elements life throws at us.

But, who are we to stand in the way? If we had the capacity to truly protect people from all adversity how would we appreciate our gifts and blessings? How would we know what we are truly experiencing?

I have the most amazing job in the world. People are just beautiful, they have innocence, beauty, mannerisms and wonderfully unique personalities. Why else would we surround ourselves with only a handful? We need to be unique, and we need to have differing ways to be appreciated.

However life isn’t always this rosy shade of pink. Sometimes we have to be there for people in the hard times, we have to be stronger than they can be, and sometimes it’s ok to share emotions with them. In our own way we know how to be the support they need us to be.

This is how I look at my palliative patients. It’s not just about the patient, it’s also about their family and friends. Sure the patient is scared, or maybe prepared, but what about the loved ones? They truly suffer! After the patient has finished this leg of their journey who’s left to pick up the pieces? Not just the pieces left behind, but each individual has a life that now has a part of it that’s missing. And that is hard! It’s like coming home one day and finding only rubble where your house used to be. You don’t feel like it will ever be the same, or ever feel like home again. But you can sort through your belongings, and your memories and you can build a new structure. A structure decorated with those memories, and new memories. In a few months there could be a new house standing, not like the old one, but with new character. And, it never gets easier to rebuild that house, but those same friends and family will be there to help you sort through it all. And each time you add more memories and character to the new building.

I love my job because I support people and share in their fears, concerns and journeys. My direct actions can influence their experience, and sure I can come to work in a bad mood, and with a bad attitude just waiting to knock off, but what about them? They maybe facing horrible news, or be feeling confused and scared, their situation is fragile and it’s my job to support them and be an advocate. I’m on the front line, providing the care for the patient, someone’s loved one, not a number on a wall, a unique individual who means the world to other people. I’m also an advocate for the family, sometimes I’m their voice, and I’m often the tenderness and compassion from the doctor when they seem to miss the mark with their bedside manner.

Nurses have so much to learn, outside of the classroom. Something you can’t teach, either you have it or you don’t, you learn simply by doing.

I am so blessed to have the opportunity to be a part of these lives, and to hopefully make a difference and provide a positive experience amongst the heartache and sadness. It’s easy to provide the basic things, it’s harder to appreciate the little things, the things we don’t even notice ourselves that just make those last moments special.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nursing Creed: Compassion Until The Very end!

  1. Thank you for all that you do. This kind of care needs to be exteneded in all that we do. Let people know that they have a personal value even to a stranger. It can make a world difference.

    If only everyone would care for themselves and treat their bodies with good food and exercise maybe they would not even need to go to the hospital at all.

    Life is but a vapor and we must do all that we can to make it last as long as possible if for no one else but the ones who care for us. *hug*

    What are your inside tips, clues, strategies to not get cancer in the first place?

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    • Thank you for your kind comment. I’m just sharing my journey. What does and doesn’t work for me. I try to be healthy, and I know this sounds clichèd but I really do feel better for it, and I definitely feel the difference when I haven’t exercised or I have eaten food I shouldn’t. I have been borderline underweight, obese and now I have a healthy BMI, and I can honestly say I feel the best now, that I eat better and exercise regularly (most of the time), we’re only human and we will be tempted, but that’s ok. I actually try to have a cheat day once a week or once a fortnight, it kind of reboots us so we don’t plateau. And, I believe that we should occasionally give in to temptation so we can get on with it, temptations can niggle you and niggle you until you give in, and sometimes we just crave a sugary treat and that’s ok in moderation. Treats shouldn’t be an everyday occurrence.

      I agree, I think lifestyle choices are the cause of a lot of admissions these days; heart problems, diabetes, being over weight. I think we just need to appreciate ourselves, our health and other people a whole lot more. We’re individuals, we’re unique, and we can all have such a positive impact on others and our environment at different levels.

      My tips are just to do what you can, you really need to stay inspired and motivated to continue. You have to value your health, and realise how precious it is, and what life would be without it. I try not to eat package foods if I can, I try to make sure my fridge is full of fruit for snacks and fibre, and vegetables so there’s always something I can make, and the fruit makes it easy to have something quick to eat. I also plan my meals in advance, I have leftovers in the fridge or freezer for work, or readily available if I’m tired and don’t feel like cooking. This prevents take-away on the way home, and minimal dishes if I don’t feel like it at the end of a busy week. I also try to exercise at least 4 times a week, at the moment my goal is for cardio at least 3 times a week and I do Pilates or yoga at home in front of the tv. My cardio is broken up so I don’t get bored, I need variety to keep me moving so I do 20mins on the cross training and I aim for at least 360 calories in that time, 20 mins on the exercise bike and 240 calories, and finally 20 mins on the cross trainer including 200 calories. My overall aim is for 800 calories and 15kms in an hr.

      You don’t have to go to the gym, when is tarted losing weight I exercised in front of the tv with a 30min DVD 4 times a week and I lost 8-10kgs in a month. The thing that matters the most is just that you keep going, do whatever you have to be maintain your motivation.

      To prevent cancer I think you really just have to embrace risk minimization, eat food that you know it healthy (preferably home made or that is made from healthy ingredients), exercise regularly and try to avoid stress. This is why I do yoga, I feel relaxed and my body feels like it’s been massaged afterwards, it’s a great exercise to do before bed for a relaxed nights sleep.

      Those are just my strategies, I wish everyone all the luck, in their journeys.

  2. Glad to hear you are being the example (most of the time 🙂 )Planning in a particular cheat day and not going overboard with it is a good start. Food is meant to be enjoyed.

    That is a great plan to do with the food in the fridge, be sure to inspire other to do the same and be healthier. Check out this bonus to consider when consuming any dairy.

    The workout plan it GREAT! Nothing overwhelming but challenging is the key. Intensity is always able to be ramped up. Your strategies is one to follow, the best plan is the one you are able to follow and gets results.

    Fruits and veggies to fight cancer sounds like a sumation.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    • Thank you, I agree about the fruit and veggies, I figure the best way to get nutrients is the way nature intended. The way nature has provided.

      As for dairy, that’s something I struggle to avoid, since I love tea and coffee. But I do like almond milk, and substitute where I can, unfortunately it’s not available in cafés and restaurants.

      But I think the key to a successful diet is always planning. True, planning can only go so far, but I’m more successful when I plan ahead.

      • Almond milk is a good alternative and if you ask the managers at your restaurants they tend to make accomodations and if you eat there regularly you may even be able to bring your own. I don’t believe it needs to be refrigerated so you might even be able to keep it with you.

        Proper Prior Planning Prevents Poor Performance.

        Regards,
        Clifford Mitchem
        Advocare Distributor
        Nutrition + Fitness = Health
        http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

      • Thanks, I hadn’t even thought of that. I guess it’s like people who need to drink soy milk. No, I don’t think it needs refrigerating, and the best part is I can make it at home. I haven’t really attempted yet, but it’s on my to-do list. I try to make things from scratch where I can, and within my time and equipment limitations.

        Sometimes planning is all I have. 😉

Leave a Reply

