Quilt Dedication – Ideas Please?

I am open to suggestions, but I’ve been thinking about my Mum lately and pretty soon it would have been her birthday.  So I’m looking around the internet for pink ribbon fabric, I want to make a quilt in her honour.  At the moment I’m just thinking about what I want to include.  She passed away when I was young from breast cancer, and I don’t remember a lot about her, just that she loved our little family, she sewed, cooked, played the keyboard and was very unwell when I was in infants at school…  It’s not much to go on I know, but I was thinking if I had a look around I could find some inspiration.

So at the moment I’m looking for fabric.  I don’t know too many places to purchase from, so I’ve kit up ebay and etsy who seem to have a little in the colours I want.  But I was also thinking I could make it also suitable to be a hand-me-down for if I have a daughter in the future.  Something to resemble the grandmother she will never have.  I would like to also make a family one sometime in the future, but I just have to sort through some photos and find the best and most cost effective process to get photos printed onto fabric.

I am open to ideas, please feel free to leave comments if you have any ideas.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Craft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilt Dedication – Ideas Please?

  1. Emmely says:

    I like this online store for quilting fabrics, very affordable and they have a lot: http://www.fabricshack.com/cgi-bin/Store/store.cgi
    You can buy fabrics that you can print on or you can use transfer paper to iron a picture onto fabric. If you want to include it in a quilt I would first test it on a piece and run it through the washing machine. I’ve heard of people printing on fabric, including it in quilts and then losing most of the pictures during the first wash cycle. That would be quite dramatic. You could also try whether making your own fabric on Spoonflower would work.

    • Thank you 🙂 I appreciate the suggestions and will check out that website tonight. I’m debating whether I make something to hang on the wall, or to use as a quilt. I’m not very creative, so it might take me a little while to decide what I want to do, but I thought depending on what fabric I can find, maybe it might inspire me… Here’s hoping.

      Thank you for the feedback on printing the images. I’ll keep that in mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

