You Won’t Find Happiness Under the Christmas Tree

I’ve been thinking a lot lately.  Which I guess if you read my blog regularly is nothing unusual.  But, I’ve been thinking about what it takes to find happiness, be happy, or even just know that we’re happy.

How do we acquire happiness?  I think we have to take the time to appreciate, have the capacity to see things with perspective and enjoy an individual moment.  For instance getting up early just to enjoy the view of the sunrise, or the feeling of the fresh morning air.  Having the perspective to take a step back and appreciate the little things, like the random kindness of a stranger, or a smell, or an adorable comment from the old lady who isn’t well, but has retained her sense of humour and has the patience she’s spent her life earning.  It’s not about what belongings you have, how your house is furnished or how much you spent on your hair, it’s about the things you can’t buy.

happiness-choice-not-chance-blog-500x333I think we all have a quest for happiness, we all want to feel we have a purpose in life, and feel we’ve made achievements.  But, I feel that we truly make these realisations, only when we can take the perspective and have something to compare it too.  Makes me wonder…  Are all of our feelings relative?

As a nurse “pain is what the patient describes it as”.  Pain that is 10/10 is the worst pain they have ever experienced, but remembering to keep in mind it’s determined by their own experiences.  So if you’re like me and you’ve never truly experienced any real extreme pain can you truly appreciate being pain free?  This is best identified by looking at those who have to live with chronic pain, not only does it cause utter discomfort, but it is emotionally and physically draining.

So how do we know when we’ve made it…  To happiness?  We all have that goal, something we think will make us happy, but why is that so often always never seem to be achievable?  For instance when I was at uni I thought finishing and getting a job would be the answer, my financial situation would upgrade, but it seems the more we make the more debt we get into these days…  Somehow our income is relative to our expenditure.   But, does that make us happy?  My family is into doing up the house, and it seems they are never happy, they move into a house, renovate it and buy something else they end up renovating.  From a distance that might seem superficial, but what if that’s what they want?  To have the financial stability to be creative and turn something old into something new, kind of like a form of art?

Happiness is different for all of us.  But if we hit our peak where would we be, and where would we go next?  We all need personal growth, but I like to think of my happiness as being content with where I’m at.  I don’t like to think I have a superficial happiness, but at the same time I want to enjoy my journey and not be so focused on the end.  After all we should enjoy the adventure, there’s a reason we don’t get everything we want, we’re so complex, we have needs and fulfilment requirements.  We should always take a moment to step back and notice the small enjoyments in life, no matter how mundane; a smell, a picture, a taste or even a joke.  I think we should all make the time for the things that truly matter, like family, friends and doing things that bring us enjoyment.

For me I enjoy being around people, I appreciate their individual nature, and just generally like human interactions which has always been me.  I also enjoy my sewing, patchwork, crochet and my blog when I’m at home having quiet time.  I appreciate being with people, and I also like being on my own, which means I can be happy on my days off, but at the same time I love my job.  Although I complain about going back to work when I’ve been home for a few days, I love having the opportunity to sit and talk with my patients, and whenever I can I sit and explain what’s happening with both the patients and their families.  Sometimes I think we miss the point, sometimes I think we need a reminder about what really matters to us.

If we had our families and friends around the Christmas tree in December, I think we would forget about what lies underneath.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Won’t Find Happiness Under the Christmas Tree

  1. Pingback: Shared from WordPress | Doctor Kemi

Leave a Reply

