I Just Appreciate the Experience

I’m very disappointed, my laptop is down. Just a quick post, not sure how my posting will go but I need a new charger and in the meantime all I have is my iPad. Sounds like a first-world problem… And it is in the great scheme of things. But the truth is it’s not so much the benefit of the formatting of writing on a computer, but I miss the typing. I miss the feeling of sitting at the computer, the feeling of touch typing on my keyboard, it’s the process more than the luxury.

I know this is temporary, and I have a desk top I can set up, but there’s something about the convenience of a laptop. I can take it to the kitchen while I’m cooking, or the couch and post while I’m inspired and motivated, or lay on the floor. I can do all these things with my iPad also, and I would love to go and write in a cafe sometime, maybe with a view and definitely with a coffee. But what I miss most is the writing!

Sometimes it’s the little things we notice, while they are luxuries they don’t change the outcome so much as the experience. Why do we do a lot of the things we do? Why do we choose to slave in the kitchen over a roast instead of picking up Henny Penny on the way home, or make a handmade quilt instead of something we found cheap on eBay? Because of the process, what we’ve learned and what we’ve earned. We need a sense of process.

I love my writing, as boring or mundane as it may be, I actually enjoy sitting at my laptop, with the keys under my fingers. I can feel each key, something isn’t the same as the tablet or phone. I think sometimes we lose sight of old fashioned values, of appreciating the experience!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Just Appreciate the Experience

  1. One thing I learned today is that the desktop may be down but it is still old faithful and should be kept for moments just like this.

    There is nothing like the sense of accomplishment that you get from actually doing something or making something. There are somethings that just are not the same.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    • Thank you Clifford,
      I agree, I just don’t have anything permanent set up at home. I just use my laptop wherever I’m comfortable at the time, I love writing… No matter where I am. And if it’s unavailable I use my tablet, but it’s not the same. There’s something about sitting at a computer, no matter where it is.

      Hoping to get a new charger tomorrow :). Fingers crossed!

      Thank you for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

