Meal Plan: Oat Pancakes

First of all I would like to start by saying HAPPY PANCAKE DAY!

Ok, so oat pancakes don’t sound so appetising, but they are really really filling.  I was reading about what foods have high levels of fibre and proteins last night because I’m trying to work on my eating habits.  I often skip breakfast at home, and start work leaving breakfast until morning tea time, then I don’t want lunch and by the time I get home I’m famished, sometimes I find I snack as soon as I get in the door and then I skip dinner because I’m not hungry.

So while I’m off work at the moment I’m taking the time to look for something simple for me to make for breakfast, I don’t know if I will have the self control to get up before work and have breakfast, I might have to resort for a smoothie instead, but I can always make something like this for breakfast when I work on an afternoon shift, night duty or when I have a day off.

I don’t usually eat pancakes for breakfast because I consider them not to be a healthy option, usually we use them as a dessert option until I discovered the protein version.  This is merely an adaption to the last recipe I posted which only contained half a banana and an egg, I really loved this recipe because there is really no need to add anything, because the banana makes them sweet enough there’s no need to drizzle honey or syrup, which I feel great about because it means less sugar in my system.  Only natural sugar.

For these OAT PANCAKES I used:

  • 1 cup of oats
  • half a banana20140304-093830.jpg
  • around half a cup of light milk (you could also use almond milk,soy milkorevenwater if you wanted to – this is only to lighten the mixture depending on how many and how thick you want your pancakes to be, I used only a small amount as I wanted to get the whole cup in)

I mixed it all together in my thermomix, but if you don’t mind the oats being bigger in size and you mash up the banana you could just use a fork.  Then cook them in a pan.  The only alterations I would make are the milk for consistency and banana depending on how sweet you want them to taste.

I like to add mushrooms, avocado and strawberries to my breakfast.  I know the fruit and mushrooms seem odd, but I don’t mind so much.  I didn’t use avocado this morning because my avocados aren’t ripe enough at the moment.  But I’ve used oats, mushrooms, banana and strawberries because of their fibre content, also I used banana, and eggs for their protein.  The best part is this should minimise the snacking during the day as it’s very filling.

Start the day right with whole grains, protein and fibre.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

