My Plan For This Week

Ok, so it’s the start of a new work week.  Some of you started work today, I start nights this Wednesday night, I dread it leading up to it, but once I get started I’m fine.  The biggest challenge for me is planning, which assists my other challenges.  And, of course things don’t always go according to plan, but what can you do?  

Well, I do my best, that’s what I do, that’s all you can do really.  I plan meals, meal ideas, a workout schedule and try to do the shopping before the week kicks off.  So tonight I’m planning for the week while I’m sitting here in my tidy house.  I managed to get around and get the house all organised, all that’s left for me now is to get organised for the week ahead.  

My exercise regime this week has to be adjusted in accordance with my night shifts, remembering I need at least 3 cardio days.  So I plan to head to the gym on my way to work, since the gym is open 24/7 all I have to do is get there, the other days I can either fit in an extra day or do some yoga or something else at home.  I try and do some form of exercise at least 5 days per week.  I’ve been pretty good this last week, with only one rest day, I’m quite happy with my efforts.  

meal-planningNow for meal planning.  Since I have night duty it means I can have dinner at home, all I have to do is make sure the shopping is done and I have some healthy snacks for work during the night.  I also like to incorporate some variety so I don’t get bored, and the other thing to remember is that there are a lot of unhealthy snacks brought in on nights, and I have to remember my goals.  

My week:
Monday (today):
Exercise – yoga
Meal Planning – leftovers

Tuesday:
Exercise – yoga
Meal planning – Pumpkin soup and turkish toast

Wednesday:
Exercise – cardio at the gym
Meal planning – Vegetable frittata

Thursday: 
Exercise – cardio at the gym
Meal planning – Vegetable salad and homemade vegetarian sausage rolls

Friday: 
Exercise – rest day
Meal planning – Vegetable frittata (leftovers) and fish

Saturday:
Exercise – cardio at the gym
Meal planning – my night off!  Either leftovers or my partner cooks

Sunday: 
Exercise – rest
Meal planning – buritos

I like to plan some snacks to have on hand, I don’t often sit down to a proper lunch, plus I will need snacks for night duty.  

Snacks:

  • Crackers
  • Homemade hummus
  • Vegetable sticks (carrot, celery, capsicum)
  • Fruit
  • Yoghurt and Muesli
  • Thin rice cakes with cottage cheese, avocado and tomato

My plans don’t always go accordingly, but if I have a plan for the whole week, at least if I miss a few days I can still be happy with my accomplishments.  This week I have exercised as I planned, and eaten reasonably well.  The trick is not to buy anything I wouldn’t want to be tempted into eating, and to maintain my exercise.  Movement is movement!

Recently I’ve started a food diary to track my intake, it’s a good idea to see where I’m going wrong, and what habits I’ve developed.  I find the biggest help for me is always having a healthy go-to snack in the house that prevents me eating things I’ll regret later.  For me that’s fruit, rice cakes, protein bars…  Something light but filling.  

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised, Health/Fitness, Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Plan For This Week

  1. Excellent on the planning! Nice kick up on the workout intensity. Remember to want your goal more and fat food.

    You are doing great.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    • Thanks. I’ve just downloaded an app to track my progress, something to keep me motivated. And I can track my exercise, food intake and set goals.

      Getting to the gym is harder when I’m on night duty, but hopefully tonight.

      Thanks for your positive messages. 🙂

Leave a Reply

