Take the Night Off

Icame home to a wonderful surprise last night.  My partner cooked us dinner, well he had already eaten and gone to bed, but he left me some leftovers in the fridge, which was so good to come home to, and there was enough left over for tonight too.  Nothing flash, just hoiken noodles, chicken breast and veggies, the best part is that he enjoyed it so much he wants to make it again, and he appreciates how good it is for me to come home to something home-cooked, that’s ready when I get home.  YAY!

20140303-205204.jpgI know it doesn’t sound like much, but it is so nice and a relief to know I can have a night off.  Even if I did have a sink full of dishes, I did the unthinkable and left them until this morning, however I did actually catch up on the washing last night while I watched some tv.

At the end of the day, there are some nights where it’s just nice to come home and have the night off.  Those of you with children probably understand this feeling more than I do, but I often feel like I never really get to sit still for very long.

I highly recommend planning your week with a night off.  This can be a night where you have no commitments, and either have dinner cooked for you or have something prepared so when you get home you can just veg out.  My partner and I are currently planning two nights like this a week, one for my quick shifts where he cooks, and the last night of my work week is either date night or my night off (which also works out as my night off).  I think most of all I just miss being home to cook dinner I guess, but I always manage to prepare for my week ahead.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

