Getting Ready For My Last Week Of Nights

One more week of night duty!  I’m not quite as organised this week, but I do have some frozen meal options that will be easy to put together after my sleeps.

I haven’t been very good lately with my exercise, the night duty gym plan didn’t really happen, although I did get through some yoga so I guess all is not lost.  However today is Wednesday, netball day so I know I’ll be getting in some exercise to night and maybe even head to the gym before hand.

Despite the fact I’ve been on night duty, I’ve been catching up with family too which means eating out.  With my brother on the weekend and again with Dad yesterday at an all you can eat restaurant.  However, having said that I was good, I went straight for the roast section having the pork I never have at home because my partner doesn’t like it, and some veggies, I also had a go at some satay squid which was awesome, a little bit of honey chicken and a few mini dim sims.  I’m not really all the fussed on desserts so that’s not really my downfall, mostly it’s savoury.  Now my Dad is meant to be on a diet, he’s doing ok but he’s weak like me, so like I said to him we all deserve and need a cheat day every now and then.  Hopefully he’s back on track like I’m planning for today.

In light of my poor efforts recently today I’m putting my new plan together.  I’m starting with a coffee today though.  Protein for lunch, I’m going to call it brunch.  Since I felt so poorly after lunch yesterday I feel like I need some distance between meals, and I’m still not hungry from lunch yesterday.  Dinner tonight should be made up of a combination of fibre and protein, nothing too heavy, maybe a warm vegetable salad tonight.

I’m not going to make a traditional meal plan like I usually do for this week, it usually leaves me feeling disappointed when I something doesn’t go according to plan.  Instead I’m going to make some goals for the week, and yes I will still have prepared meal options and the ingredients around the house to make something healthy, but it means I will have more flexibility and some go-to options at the same time.

My goals for this week:
Exercise related

  • Cardio at least 3 times
  • Yoga at least 3 times
  • Get outside for at least 30mins this week – (Not including the yard work I did yesterday, and not including driving)

Diet related

  • Go-to meal options: pumpkin soup, fritters, frittata
  • Two meals including vegetables
  • Protein, and fibre rich meals
  • Prepped snacks for night duty this week (hummus and crackers, vegetable sticks,
  • Drink more water! (I’m more compliant with this last rule when I have a drink bottle)

I guess I can’t really wish for much more than that.  I make sure my fridge is stocked up with vegetables (I like to keep some vegetable stock concentrate too), that way I always have something quick and easy I can prepare, even if it’s just a warm veggie salad that can cook in the oven while I have a shower, or throw some veggies and stock into the thermomix for an easy soup.  I’ve discovered it’s not hard to eat healthy so long as I make sure I prepare my own food, and be organised.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

