When In Doubt… Do We Go Back To The Familiar?

When we have no control do we have to find a way, any way to get it back?

I have had a few things turn upside down just recently, and I’ve felt incredibly out-of-control.  I’ve finally almost got the house back under control after being so slack, I have a house inspection on Thursday which means a forced motivation but maybe it’s just what I needed…  A deadline to get things back on track.

When we have so much change and upheaval, somehow we have to find something to come back to.  For me when I feel like I can’t control something I go back to what I know.

polls_work_life_4007_806847_answer_4_xlargeI haven’t been to the gym in probably two weeks, since I was sick and slept for 3 days, then I was back at work, had a party on the weekend and I’ve just come out the other end of 9 work days in a row.  I’m significantly behind at the moment, and I have to keep up somehow, I think at the moment that “keeping up” has been with friends and family.  However my health has taken a step backwards, no exercise and a poor diet of whatever I have at my disposal.  My partner didn’t like the last soup I made him so that meant when I made some for me he ended up with it and I’ve just had whatever I could find.  Pizza on the weekend with my brother, hot cross buns for lunch at work, toast for lunch at work today and my favourite was pumpkin soup with broccoli and a spinach and ricotta cheese pasta for dinner.  I know it doesn’t sound too good, but it was oh-so tasty with the pumpkin soup as a sauce and I try to avoid pasta ordinarily but sometimes it’s just nice to mix it up a little.

My diet may seem bad, and the fact I haven’t exercised, but I actually lost 3kgs.  Which ordinarily would be good, but given the way it’s occurred I don’t think it is and it’s time to get back to working on my health.  No gym, no yoga and minimal nutrition.  But, is this my control?  The only control I have when everything else feels like it’s up in the air?  It seems to be the place I always find myself at.

Maybe it’s time to try something different, find something I can look forward to, get organised and regain a routine.  After all it doesn’t take long to fall out of routine, the hardest part is getting back into rhythm.

Do we all need some kind of basic foundation?  Something we all come back to when nothing else seems right?  A base on which to make it all “right” again?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

