Getting Organised About Moving – Instead of Overwhelmed!

The big day is looming.  I have just over 2 weeks until I move house.  I’ve been shopping for some furniture the last few weeks, but there’s just a few things I’m not sure about, more to do with size.

It’s funny when you go to an inspection you look for what you consider to be the important issues; security, the kitchen space and storage, cupboard storage, the size of the laundry and bathroom, garage and yard…  But, once you start thinking about it logistically it’s the furniture and the spacial awareness, and after just one inspection it’s hard to remember what the space was like, and when the house is empty it’s hard to really get a good idea of the space you have.

I’m looking at a king sized bed, and the master bedroom in this house I’m looking at is long, with a wardrobe at one end and a balcony at the other.  So I will have to have the bed going across ways, but now I’m wondering “will the door open with the bed in place?”  Sometimes I just think it would be so convenient to have a second inspection once you find out your application has been successful.  I’m also looking for a bookcase, and now I’m weighing up where I want to put it, how long the wall was in that spot and what size I can get.

I know these are really small issues, but all the same they are still things I will have to think about before making any purchases.

In the meantime I’m looking around the house I’m in now and wondering where to start.  I can’t really start too much in the kitchen because I’m going to need a lot of those items in the next few weeks, the linen cupboard isn’t too big of an issue really either, our lounge room is pretty sparse with just the necessities.  That really only leaves the wardrobe – which speaks for itself, what can I really do in there so soon?  And the spare room which is where I store all my odds and ends – I think this is the winner.  Along with the garage!  Our garage isn’t that bad, just a few old boxes with some items I was torn about, but I’m thinking it’s about to be time to make those choices.

I have tomorrow off work and I go back Saturday afternoon, so my plan is to start some cleaning.  I know I have over two weeks to go, but I like to be organised and the only way I feel organised is if I start to contribute towards the goal.  Plus I figure the last minute clean is always such an issue, if I start with the kitchen and bathroom and maintain them I won’t have so much work to do when I leave.  In the meantime maybe when I have some spare time I can just start some culling.  In my craft room, in the kitchen and my wardrobe.  I figure there has to be some kind of order, and what better way to start than to minimise what needs to be in order?

So my first day of preparation tomorrow will be food prep for this week, I’ve been really bad with my diet only grabbing things that are convenient like hot cross buns and toast, and cleaning up.  How hard can it be?

Now a few questions I would like to throw out there…
1.  Is it better to try and get through what’s in the fridge and pantry or just move it all over?  I realise I will have to leave the fridge off for a while once I’ve moved it.
2.  Is it counter productive to aim to pack boxes and after taking a load over, unpack straight away and bring them back for another go?  I am just dreading the box run I will have to undertake for collection.

I thought I had a few more questions, but that will do for now…  I don’t know why it’s so hard to find old boxes these days!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Organised About Moving – Instead of Overwhelmed!

  1. mesamoving says:

    Help bring down your stress and think about a full service mover! 😀 check out why or why not to. Good luck with your move! http://mesamovingtips.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/5-reasons-to-hire-a-professional-mover/

    • Thank you. 🙂

      Moving always stresses me out. There’s so much to think of, it’s not just the moving on the day, it’s packing, unpacking, recruiting help, acquiring boxes, and then notifying everyone of address. Not to mention changing the landline and internet, power and gas over.

      I’m definitely checking out your link. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

