Happy Mother’s Day

Just a quick post this morning.

I would like to send out a quick Happy Mother’s Day to all the mother’s out there.  I don’t have any kids, but I know how important family is and how hard it can be for all of those out there who don’t have their mothers with them today, like me.

Happy Mothers dayI have a step-mother so I’m going out to lunch with my family, and then I’m doing something special, just my brother and I because Mother’s Day is just that little bit different for us.  Over the years we’ve spent the day with my grandmother, but now she’s not around there’s no biological connection for us with Mother’s Day, and I know it’s only a commercial idea designed to get people to go out and spend money.  But, I think it’s important to spend time with your family and make them feel appreciated, and we all have a special bond with our mother, something you can’t get from any other relationship.  I also have a few “adopted mothers”, as I call them.  I have 2 or them, and they are always there for me when I need it, they offer me support and advice that’s just not the same as what I can get from my Dad.  I know that bond isn’t the same, but I think in some small way I get a little bit of what I miss out on as an adult.

So I guess my brother and I are close and so we try to share that day together instead.

Whatever you get out of today, I hope everyone has a lovely day, surrounded by family.  What better excuse could there be to spend time with your loved ones.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

