You Can’t Enjoy Tomorrow Before You’ve Experienced Today

I’ve had an awesome time in the city over the last few days, and I’m back home now but I seem to do nothing but hit the ground running when I get up in the morning.  Today I had friends pop in, then I had errands to run, laundry to catch up on and by the time I got home after popping by to pick up milk I ended up bringing in my washing in the dark.  Luckily I had pre-prepared some frozen pumpkin soup, and happened to have some pasta in the fridge ready to go for a quick dinner.

smell the roses1I’ve done a lot of reading lately, actually I’ve gone from not knowing what to read to having a whole pile of books to read and a few things on my kindle.  Since my recent developments, I’ve had a few things to think about and figure out where I’m going and what I want.  Not that anything really has changed in that regard, but it’s time to think about what to do next I guess, and that’s something I’m always thinking about.  What is going to happen next?  Why is that our focus when we should be thinking about what’s happening now, and making the most of it, after all it’s not going to happen again.  Life is “once in a lifetime”.

What’s got me thinking about this is a book I started to read called “The Resolution for Women”.  I started the first chapter today where it talked about being content, and about making the most of our experiences before we realise they’ve passed and we will never get them back.  I guess this is something interesting to think about with my 30th birthday coming up.  I know my friends keep telling me it’s not so bad, I’m still young but I remember as a child and a teenager at various time wishing my life away, wishing I was older all the time.  Since I left school my life feels as though it’s flying by, and it seems to only fly by faster and faster.  I can’t believe how quickly this year has truly flown, and I find more and more I want to hold onto my experiences, I want to have something to show for them.  At the moment all I have is a house full of belongings and hardly any life experiences.  I want to change this and start making the most of my life.

me timeThere are things we have all the time in the world for, our career paths may take on many avenues, but this is something that does have time (depending on your occupation I suppose).  I’m a nurse, this isn’t something I should be concerned with at the moment, and at that I am only a junior, I want so much more though.  I want to spend more quality time with my friends and family, which I will have done over my holidays, I have just had an awesome time with a friend in the city, and this week I will be going away with my brother, and I have been spending some time catching up with my friends.  I would like to have a family some day, and I know that’s not something I need to start worrying about right now, but it does preoccupy my mind sometimes.  Plus I would love to travel a little more, not even necessarily that far away, although that would be awesome, but I want to make an effort to schedule my holidays and plan something for them…  Experiences!

So as I look back over my life I do see me wishing it away, even today I was looking forward to coming home to my evening alone (which I’m really enjoying these days).  I have more running around to do tomorrow, things I want to do for myself, plus seeing my family.  Earlier tonight I was thinking about how I was looking forward to Monday so I could spend a whole day at home but it got me thinking, why can’t I enjoy both experiences?  Why can’t I make the most of what I’m doing now, and then make the most of the time I get with my family tomorrow and going to the markets (which is something I want to do), then Monday I can enjoy a day at home.

smell the rosesWhy do we look so far ahead?  Have we lost sight of what we have right here in front of us?  Or do I just come from a different generation where we are never grateful for what we have and we’re always looking at what we’re going to get next?  It sounds so selfish but maybe it’s true!

Maybe it’s time to live a little more minimalist, quality over quantity.  Is it time to ditch our entertainment items at home (whatever they may be) and get outside into the world and live our lives?  It has been wonderful weather here for Autumn, still sunny, not a cloud in the sky lately even a full moon for days and days, I just can’t help but wonder if I should be making the most of these beautiful gifts and appreciating the here and now, rather than wondering and looking forward to what tomorrow might behold.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

