Keep It Simple!

I’m continuing with my book at the moment, “The Resolution for Women”.  I’m taking it slowly though and trying to put the messages I’m getting from it into practice as I read it, therefore I think it’s important not to rush through it and absorb what I’m getting from it.  After yesterday’s message of making the most of today rather than wishing things were over and looking forward to what’s coming next I actually made the most of all of my experiences today.

So today I got up later than I expected, I had my coffee and had a shower at home, and even though I was worried about being late I went to the markets I’d planned to go to and made the most of my long drive to see my family.  When I got there they weren’t ready (I was seeing my brother and my Dad today but they had a lawn bowls game and I was catching up with my brother afterwards).  They were only half way through their game when I arrived so I decided to make the most of this new found time, I bought a drink and since I had my kindle (ereader) in my bag I decided to sit by the window in the club with my drink and “book”.  It gave me about an hour and a half to read and do some thinking which was actually really good.  Afterwards I took my brother out for lunch/dinner, made the most of my drive home and I’ve had a really good night at home.  Since I packed the started the dishwasher this morning and did all of my washing yesterday there really wasn’t any housework to do, so I watched tv and spent some time doing some research for a colleague who asked for my help with a uni assessment.  I’m really enjoying my nights at home on my own lately.

keep it simpleNow the next part of my book is about appreciating what we have, and becoming content with having what we need.  I guess this is one of the things we all struggle with.  Wanting more is in our nature, I sometimes wonder if we need to want more things to feel a sense of motivation and direction.  For instance if I was told I could retire right now I would truly struggle, I really need to work towards things, I need to know I have goals and I don’t think I will ever truly be satisfied, I like to have some direction.  Even if it’s just a small project like a patchwork quilt, I love learning/studying, reading, cooking and having something to look forward to.  I know those things are all selfish, but I guess it gives me a sense of fulfilment.  Keeping in mind I don’t have kids, so maybe that will change sometime.

I guess what I’m wondering is how will I really manage this next step of contentment?  I really have everything I need, I was planning to have a Tupperware party this month because of their offer this month, and I always love buying clothes (something I actually do need for winter – weight loss does have it’s inconveniences).  But, I think to some degree this isn’t so superficial as those things, it’s about appreciating my friends and family and the roof over my head, a reliable job and everything I truly need.

I guess now I live on my own, it’s a good time to stop and think about what’s important, appreciate what I have and look at where things are going.  I do have direction in my life, and I still have a plan of what I want in the future, but right now I need to focus on me I think.  Take the time out to do what I want to do, make the most of the time I have and the experiences rather than worrying about the future, after all it will take care of itself.

So I have 3 days until I go on holidays…  The only plans I have is to meet with that colleague about her assessment, other than that I’m making no plans.  I’m going to enjoy my time, and just do whatever makes me happy…

I’m starting to wonder after what I’ve been reading about where our values are these days.  Heads in smartphones and missing out on life, missing out on experiences and constantly looking towards what’s coming next, people bragging about what size their tv is, what kind of car they drive and what they went into debt this time for.  Where has the time gone?  The quality time, the times we sat around the table for meals and not in front of the tv or at the computer?  Whatever happened to just sitting outside in the sunshine with a book, with kids riding their bikes on Christmas day instead of playing the latest video game?  I’m not against technology, I have a playstation, wii, smartphone, ipad and 2 computers.  But I don’t use them all the time.  I am starting to remember the value of the simple things, the things that helps us remain grounded, that make us who we are.

It’s time to take it back to basics.  Our grandparents had it right, they did everything manually and properly, they made their food from scratch, spent time with their families and relaxed outside of work commitments, they never took their work home and they stressed less than we do now.  It seems like everything we do these days adds to our stress levels, commitments and responsibilities, we can now access emails at home and there are no longer inappropriate times for work calls.  Maybe it’s time we went back to the simple times…  I love the values of those times, I love the idea of a Sunday roast, family home cooked meals at the dining table, Saturdays in the sunshine, leaving work at work and spending quality time with friends and family.  I think that’s what this next part of my book is talking about, focusing on the quality of life rather than the quantity.  After all what do we really get from “things”?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keep It Simple!

  1. Keep the imagination active and put forth everything you can. By keeping it simple you remove the stress that may hnder your mental expansion. Consider nice long jogs to clear it as well.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    • Thanks. I agree, sometimes it’s nice to take a few steps back, strip everything down to basics and just enjoy the simple life. It doesn’t need to be complicated. We can just relax and be ourselves. Sometimes it’s nice to do something for ourselves.

Leave a Reply

