Back To Work This Week: Planning Balance

Back to meal planning, preparation and exercise plans.  I’m off to work on Wednesday, it’s finally time to get organised after having 4.5 weeks of no structure and just going with the flow.

I have a fair bit to organise tomorrow, washing my uniform and start some meal planning and preparation.  I’m starting with a cottage pie.  I’ve decided to use some skinless sausages as the meat base and instead of potato on top I plan to use sweet potato and no cheese on top.  This is also a great meal to add veggies to, you can add anything you want to it, and if you’re making this for your family you can always blend up some veggies you know they won’t eat and pop that in the mixture too.  It’s so versatile you can use it as a main or you can have it as a side, with a salad if you wanted to limit your carb and meat intake.

Since I’m trying to eat healthy this week I have a plan of veggies and a veggie salad, the cottage pie is the only major meal I plan to make this week, other than that I was planning to have some steamed fish and veggies/salad.  Easy for nights at work, and cooking a cottage pie means I have left overs for easy dinner options at home.  I also have some exercise dvds ready to go, my yoga app and I have a plan to get into the gym at least twice this week.  Best intensions but as long as I eat healthy meals and I do some exercise at least 3 times this week I’ll be happy with that for week #1.

I know this is a lot to try and take on for this week, but I want to go back to my ratio diet I was attempting last year.  I’ve gained a few kilos being off work and having no real routine so I think this will be a great way to drop that extra weight while I get my healthy eating back on track.  After all weight-loss begins in the kitchen.

How The Ratio Diet Works:

Fast-Diet-Week-5-why-i-love-the-fast-dietYou may have heard of the 5:2 diet, and you may recall my previous posts about this, but after some reading online I found a new benefit of having a “free day”.  The free day is meant to assist the body from a plateau by kind of kick starting the metabolism so it doesn’t get used to a certain intake.

4:2:1:
For 4 days I eat 1200 calories, 2 days I try to sustain 500 calories and then there’s the “free day”.  Last time this worked really well, I dropped about 2.5kgs in a few weeks.  Normally I wouldn’t stand by something like this but my belief is that “fad diets” are only really a way to lose the weight but you need to have the lifestyle choices in place to sustain it once you get it there.  For the most part this isn’t too big a deal for me, my biggest issue is just plateauing.

I’ve been feeling bloated and uncomfortable a lot lately, I try to make some decent decisions but while I’ve been trying to catch up with everyone I find I’ve done a little over-eating because since I lost the bulk of my weight I find that my appetite isn’t as good as it used to be.  I get full faster and I don’t eat as much or as often.

So week #1 for me is going to be basic.  Salads, vegetables, fish and one bulk meal for easy options.  I am hoping to sustain this for two weeks combined with some exercise, afterwards I plan to maintain the vegetable content but I want to look around for some good vegetarian meal ideas.  My biggest issue is sustaining my fibre and protein amounts, and water intake.

The 4:2:1 diet works well, but the main issue is sustaining 500 calories.  In order to do this you really need a list of low calorie meals or snack options.  It will be hard but if you plan to try this with me keep an eye out on my facebook page I will try and post some ideas as the week progresses.  Remember your light options like celery, hummus, rice cakes and fish, also consider the size and remember to drink plenty of water.

I’m considering my diet to have commenced from today, I had a pretty good day today, I went out for brunch of scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms and tomato on toast while tonight I had dinner with a friend, homemade cottage pie (inspired me for this week and a great way to use those sausages).  So today was a 1200 calorie day, tomorrow will be my “free day”, Dad’s coming and I don’t know what we’ll end up with for lunch, I don’t plan to over-do it but I figure if my “free day” isn’t that bad I will have done well for week #1.  My first 500 calorie day is Wednesday – day one back at work.

Remember if you are doing to do this with me, keep some strategies in mind, and plan ahead…  Be organised.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Ratio 4:2:1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

